BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP POLICE SPONSORED VIOLENCE AND ANTI-BLACK RACIST HARASSMENT

WE WOULD LIKE TO INVITE YOU TO ATTEND THE NEXT FREE TRAINING:

Please note you must register in advance for all trainings. Registration is capped at 1,000 people per training.

  • Friday, July 10th, 2020 at 4:00 PM ET/ 3:00pm CT/ 2:00pm MT/ 1:00pm PT/10:00am HST. Register Here.
  • Saturday, July 18th, 2020 at 1:00 PM ET / 12:00pm CT/ 11:00am MT/ 10:00am PT/ 7:00am HST. Register Here.
  • Wednesday, July 22nd, 2020 at 6:00 PM ET/ 5:00pm CT/ 4:00pm MT/ 3:00pm PT/12:00pm HST.  Register Here.

*On this date, Hollaback! and the New York City Commission on Human Rights Presents: The Black New Yorker’s Report followed by a training on Bystander Intervention to Stop State Sponsored Violence and Anti-Black Racist Harassment.

  • Thursday, July 30th, 2020 at 5:00 PM ET/ 4:00pm CT/3:00pm MT/ 2:00pm PT/11:00am HST. Register Here

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. The training is currently only offered in English. Additionally, please note at the moment this training may not be ADA compliant. 

Don’t see the training times you’re looking for? We also have free bystander intervention trainings to address gender-based harassment.

WORKSHOP DESCRIPTION

In response to continued police violence against black communities and the recent murders of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, and Ahmaud Arbery, Hollaback! Is offering this free, one-hour, interactive training to train people on how to safely intervene in the face of police violence and anti-black racism using Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention. 

We’ll start by talking about the types of violence and racism black folks are facing right now — from microaggressions to murder — using a tool we call the “spectrum of racism.”  We’ll talk about how anti-black racism is so ingrained into the fabric of our society that we see it present in all forms, from everyday tasks or activities to larger societal institutions. We’ll discuss the deep impact harassment, violence, and constant threat of violence has on black communities. 

You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities. We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening. We’ll also talk about what to do if you’re a person of color worried the violence will turn on you and how to avoid being a “white savior.”  We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see police sponsored, anti-black harassment or violence.

RESOURCES:

ORGANIZATIONS TO SUPPORT:

  • Black Lives Matter :: A global network fighting for Freedom, Liberation and Justice of Black folks by building local power and intervening when violence is inflicted on Black communities. 
  • Campaign Zero :: A campaign taking deliberate action to end the disproportionate police violence and incarceration of Black communities in America. 
  • Run with Maud :: A justice campaign fighting for due process in the lynching of Ahmaud Arbery. Sign the petition or make phone calls to demand justice for Ahmaud. 
  • Take Action Minnesota :: A Minnesota-based organization pushing for collective aid and pursuing justice in the murder of George Floyd. 
  • Minnesota Teen Activists :: A collective of youth activists fighting white supremacy and injustice in Minnesota. 
  • Fair Fight Action :: An organization promoting fair elections and educating voters about their voting rights nationwide. 
  • NAACP Legal Defense Fund :: America’s premiere legal defense organization fighting for racial justice. 
  • Color of Change :: The nation’s largest online racial justice organization. 
  • The Bail Project :: Provides free bail assistance to low-income individuals who are legally presumed innocent. 
  • Black Visions Collective :: A Minnesota-based organization that believes in a future where all Black people have autonomy, safety is community-led, and we are in right relationship within our ecosystems. 
  • Reclaim the Block :: A Minneapolis-based campaign that works to move money from the police department to other areas of the city budget, prioritizing community health and safety.
  • Communities United for Police Reform :: A campaign to end discriminatory policing practices in New York. 
  • Southern Poverty Law Center :: An organization that monitors and exposes the behavior of hate groups and extremists in the US.
  • American Civil Liberties Union :: An organization dedicated to defending and preserving the civil rights and liberties of all Americans. 
  • National Urban League :: A  historic civil rights organization that advocates on behalf of economic and social justice for African Americans and against racial discrimination in the United States
  • Black Alliance for Just Immigration :: BAJI educates and engages African American and black immigrant communities to organize and advocate for racial, social and economic justice. 
  • Trans Women of Color Collective :: Trans Women of Color Collective (TWOCC) was created to cultivate economic opportunities and affirming spaces for trans people of color and our families, to foster kinship, build community engage in healing and restorative justice through arts, culture, media, advocacy and activism.  
  • INCITE! :: INCITE! is a network of radical feminists of color organizing to end state violence and violence in our homes and communities.
  • Black Women’s Blueprint :: An organization providing a blueprint for black liberation through a feminist lens.

TALK TO OUR TEAM:

To connect with a member of our training team and learn more about how we can customize this training for your team or business, please complete the form below:

Please choose the number of employees in your organization.