BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP POLICE SPONSORED VIOLENCE AND ANTI-BLACK RACIST HARASSMENT | Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP POLICE SPONSORED VIOLENCE AND ANTI-BLACK RACIST HARASSMENT | Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment

Loading Events

« Get Trained

  • This event has passed.

BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP POLICE SPONSORED VIOLENCE AND ANTI-BLACK RACIST HARASSMENT

June 11 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Friday, June 11th 2021. 3:00PM ET/ 2:00PM CT/ 1:00PM MT/ 12:00PM PT/ 9:00AM HST. Register Here.

Hollaback! Is offering this free, one-hour, interactive training to train people on how to safely intervene in the face of police violence and anti-black racism using Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention.

We’ll start by talking about the types of violence and racism black folks are facing right now — from microaggressions to murder — using a tool we call the “spectrum of racism.”  We’ll talk about how anti-black racism is so ingrained into the fabric of our society that we see it present in all forms, from everyday tasks or activities to larger societal institutions. We’ll discuss the deep impact harassment, violence, and constant threat of violence has on black communities.

You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities. We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening. We’ll also talk about what to do if you’re a person of color worried the violence will turn on you and how to avoid being a “white savior.”  We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see police sponsored, anti-black harassment or violence.

Details

Date:
June 11
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Website:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_6JgMvsUIQS2uENTTjFyZ9g