BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP ANTI-ASIAN/AMERICAN HARASSMENT AND XENOPHOBIA | Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP ANTI-ASIAN/AMERICAN HARASSMENT AND XENOPHOBIA | Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment

Loading Events

« Get Trained

  • This event has passed.

BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP ANTI-ASIAN/AMERICAN HARASSMENT AND XENOPHOBIA

May 14 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Friday, May 14th 2021. 12:00PM ET/ 11:00AM CT/ 10:00AM MT/ 9:00AM PT/ 6:00AM HST. Register Here

The one-hour, interactive training will teach you Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention methodology. We’ll start by talking about the types of disrespect that Asian and Asian American folks are facing right now — from microaggressions to violence — using a tool we call the “spectrum of disrespect.” You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities. We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening. We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see Anti-Asian/American harassment online or in person.

 

(Street harassment can happen to anyone, but disproportionately punishes women, girls, LGBTQ+ people, and other marginalized groups for being themselves in the world. SIGN UP for our FREE BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO ADDRESS GENDER-BASED STREET HARASSMENT. )

Details

Date:
May 14
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Website:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_wrHO4VTATQOrFzeIP9Dr9A