Training to stop anti-Asian/American and xenophobic harassment

Visual notes created for Houston Coalition Against Hate on May 3rd, 2021

In response to the rise in Anti-Asian/American and xenophobic harassment, we at Hollaback! partnered with Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC to adapt our free bystander intervention training as well as offer a de-escalation training adapted to support the Asian/American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community. The Asian Americans Advancing Justice affiliation has been documenting stories of anti-Asian hate crimes and hate incidents since 2017 at www.StandAgainstHatred.org, which is available in English, Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese. To address the rising number of anti-Asian hate crimes in 2021 and offer trainings to communities nationwide, we are now also partnered with Asian Americans Advancing Justice| Asian Law Caucus, Asian Americans Advancing Justice Los Angeles, and Asian Americans Advancing Justice Chicago.

Unfortunately, attacks against the AAPI community and xenophobic crimes in the US are not new phenomenon. The US has a long history of anti-Asian racism, and we have seen it manifested against different AAPI communities in many ways over the years, from discrimination in school to harassment against Asian women and more. With the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, we have seen increases in anti-Asian discrimination, racism, and harassment, and even anti-Asian attacks, hate crimes, and violence such as the Atlanta spa shooting in March 2021. The surge in anti-Asian racism and harassment continues to devastate AAPI communities in the US and across the world each day. As a collective, we need to take action.

You may be asking yourself: what is a hate crime? Why are hate crimes increasing? What is the history of hate against Asians in the US? How can I intervene against racism in college, at work, and on the street?

So we would like to invite you to attend our free trainings:

You can directly get involved with the #StopAsianHate movement by attending the following trainings. Click to jump directly to each workshop description. Registration is capped at 5,000 people per training.

Please note you must register in advance for all trainings. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Donate to help Hollaback! and our partners Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC so that we can expand these trainings and keep them free.

Join our Corporate Accomplices Program to empower your organization and join a global movement to disrupt harassment.

To discuss organizational engagement with Hollaback! via our specialized company-wide training opportunities, our Corporate Accomplice Program, or Corporate Sponsorships programs, please click here.

We’re now offering sessions with translations and simultaneous interpretation in Chinese (中文) both Mandarin (普通話) and Cantonese (粤语), Korean (한국어) and Vietnamese (Tiếng Việt).

Bystander intervention to stop anti-Asian/American harassment and xenophobia workshop description:


The one-hour, interactive training will teach you Hollaback!’s 5Ds of bystander intervention methodology. We’ll start by talking about the types of disrespect that Asian and Asian American folks are facing right now — from microaggressions to violence — using a tool we call the “spectrum of disrespect.” You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities. We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening. We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see Anti-Asian/American harassment online or in person.

Training dates and times:
  • Monday, December 6, 2021. 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.
  • This session offers translations and simultaneous interpretation in Hindi! Thursday, December 16, 2021. 8:00PM ET/ 7:00PM CT/ 6:00PM MT/ 5:00PM PT/ 2:00PM HST. Register Here.
  • Wednesday, January 5, 2022. 3:00PM ET/ 2:00PM CT/ 1:00PM MT/ 12:00PM PT/ 9:00AM HST. Register Here.
  • Monday, January 31, 2022. 8:00PM ET/ 7:00PM CT/ 6:00PM MT/ 5:00PM PT/ 2:00PM HST. Register Here.

You can also sign up for our free Bystander Intervention training to address gender-based harassment here.

Bystander intervention 2.0: conflict de-escalation training workshop description:

If you’ve already taken our Bystander Intervention training and you’re looking to go deeper into how to directly intervene and de-escalate conflict: this training is for you. Conflict de-escalation requires patience, a willingness to listen, and an ability to see the humanity in everyone, even those we don’t agree with or who seek to hurt us. Using Hollaback!’s Observe-Breathe-Connect methodology, we’ll learn how to identify potential conflict before it escalates using our “pyramid of escalation,” and how to assess whether intervening is the right action for you. We’ll talk about specific biases that are increasing conflict, harassment, and violence during COVID-19 — and the role of implicit and explicit bias in conflict. We’ll also learn how to connect with others by validating and de-escalating their feelings — even if we don’t understand them or agree with them.  We’ll have time at the end to practice using real-life scenarios.

Training dates and times:
  • Monday, January 10, 2021. 2:00PM ET/ 1:00PM CT/ 12:00PM MT/ 11:00AM PT/ 8:00AM HST. Register Here.

How to respond to harassment for people experiencing anti-Asian/American harassment training workshop description:

After attending our bystander intervention trainings, many Asian/Americans want to know — how do I take care of myself when I experience harassment? If that’s a question you’re asking — this training is for you.

During this one-hour, highly interactive training you’ll learn Hollaback!’s methodology for responding to harassment: 1) Trust your Instincts, 2) Reclaim Your Space, and 3) Practice Resilience. You’ll learn how your identities can shape your experience of harassment and the impact that harassment has on you and your community as a whole. We’ll talk about what to look for when assessing your safety, and how to determine if responding in the moment is the right action or not. We’ll also take a deep dive into how to build your resilience on an individual, interpersonal, organizational, community, and societal front. You’ll leave with new tools on how to respond to harassment, whether your response is in the moment while that harassment is happening or long-term.

Training dates and times:
  • Wednesday, December 8, 2021. 4:00PM ET/ 3:00PM CT/ 2:00PM MT/ 1:00PM PT/ 10:00AM HST. Register Here.
  • Tuesday, January 18, 2022. 4:00PM ET/ 3:00PM CT/ 2:00PM MT/ 1:00PM PT/ 10:00AM HST. Register Here.

Our goal:

Experiences of harassment build up over time for people, and harassment can chip away at a person — and at a community, a workplace, a school or college, or any environment we deserve to feel safe in. Together, through our small, everyday actions, we can all send the message that hate, including racism and xenophobia, is unacceptable in all forms.

Like much of the world, we are all still figuring out how this moment will change us. We will likely be changed in many ways, but we know at this moment we have a historic opportunity to help shine a light on the movement to #StopAsianHate, and work against harassment of Asian/American communities. Let’s seize this moment as we collectively work to stitch together the tattered fabric of ourselves, our relationships, our communities, and our country — into something more beautiful than any of us could imagine.

Want to learn more? See Hollaback!’s guide here which discusses the role bystanders can play, what privilege is, reasons why people don’t take action, and Hollaback! 5D’s of bystander intervention. Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC offers additional resources on their new COVID-19 page.

You can also sign up for our free Bystander Intervention training to address gender-based harassment here.

Read What People Are Saying About This Training:

This training gave me new tools to support someone experiencing discrimination. I had always thought my only option was to directly engage with the aggressor, which was terrifying to me. To know I have a lot of other tools I can use will be very helpful.

Erin McIlraith, Oregon State University

I appreciate having clear and effective strategies that can be utilized immediately.

Hoi Ning Ngai, Bates Center for Purposeful Work

Before this training, I doubt I would’ve intervened for fear of making things worse, but now I’m confident that I’m equipped with the skills necessary to diffuse any situation I may encounter.

Blaizen B Bloom

[I] wanted to let you know that I thought the training was absolutely excellent. I thought they did an amazing job conveying the importance of the training in today’s world as well as the techniques for bystander intervention. One of the most valuable and effective training sessions I have ever attended, and so important and timely.

Anonymous

Extremely informative and an amazing way to create awareness on everyday situations. I loved the emphasis on how there is always a choice and at least one thing you can do to show support for marginalized communities.

Anonymous

​​The facilitators were engaging and encouraging and the content was a perfect intro sampler to the topic (kudos for fitting so much important info into 1 hour!). Highly recommend — impressive that 100% of participants walked away with a sense of direction and an action plan after such a short webinar!

Anonymous

“It was amazing!! The presenters were clear, concise, and knowledgeable. I feel empowered to intervene in future situations with more confidence and effectiveness. The mutual respect the presenters had for acknowledging current events, history, and lives lost, was an important way to begin this training. Thank you for all you are doing to show others how to be kinder, accepting, and assertive.”

Miranda S.

Resources:

How you can help:

Donations are critical to our ability to continue offering these trainings. If you believe that Asian/Americans deserve to walk down the street or go to the grocery store, to work, to places of worship, to school, or anywhere without fear of harassment or worse — and if you believe that all of us have a role in ending harassment — please donate. Every action makes a difference.

To support the continuation of this training, donate to Hollaback! and donate to Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC.

You can see Hollaback!’s financials and annual reports here and find our privacy policy here.

Training Co-sponsors

Share your story

We collect stories to raise awareness about harassment. By sharing your testimony, you change the way people understand this problem.

Remember you are not alone and we’ve got your back.