A Week In Our Shoes: #TransIsBeautiful, This Week and Every Week!

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas, 

It’s Trans Awareness Week! In this edition of “A Week In Our Shoes,” we’re releasing special content to raise awareness of the issues facing the trans community and share resources for folks to be better allies in their communities. We invite all Hollaback! allies to create a TikTok or Instagram video showing your support for the Trans community. Don’t forget to tag us on Instagram @ihollagram and on TikTok @lets.end.harassment. Oh yeah – and check out our recent videos on TikTok and Instagram to see how you can uplift the Trans community publicly on social media and influence culture change. 

Rounding out Trans Awareness Week, tomorrow, November 20th, is Trans Day of Remembrance. This day is a time to honor the lives of our trans siblings lost to transphobic violence in the past year. Let’s hear this as a call to action and take steps to make our communities more trans-affirming. Not only can you do that by making a public statement in support of Trans Lives on your platforms, but also by starting a conversation with your family members, friends, and allies about supporting Trans people’s right to thrive, and about intervening safely with the 5Ds when you witness transphobic harassment in public.

I hope you didn’t think that the updates were done! We also have a few plans in store for the upcoming 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence! The annual 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence begins November 25. We’ll be offering DAILY, FREE Stand Up Against Street Harassment trainings, plus more special events to connect with the movement, like a movie night, a TikTok challenge, and a video surprise along with our Stand Up partners at from L’Oreal Paris, the NYC Commission on Gender Equity, the NYC Mayor’s Office to End Domestic and Gender-Based Violence, and Fayetteville State University. Stay tuned, and be sure to connect with us on social media for real-time updates once 16 Days begin.

Let us disrupt xenophobic and racist harassment. Hey Siri, when is Hollaback!’s next Bystander Intervention Training to Stop Anti-Asian/American Harassment and Xenophobia? Bonus: This session offers translations and simultaneous interpretation in Thai! (ภาษาไทย)!:

  •  Monday, November 22, 2021 at 8:00 PM ET/ 7:00PM CT/ 6:00 PM MT/ 5:00PM PT/ 2:00PM HST. Register Here.

Enough is enough. Doing nothing doesn’t solve the problem. Learn how to Stand Up Against Street Harassment in our specialized Bystander Intervention training on this matter:

  • Tuesday, November 23, 2021 at 7:00 PM ET/ 6:00 PM CT/ 5:00PM MT/ 4:00PM PT/ 1:00PM HST. Register Here.

When the kitchen is too hot, use tools you learn in Hollaback!’s Bystander Intervention 2.0: Conflict  De-Escalation Training Workshop:

  •  Monday, November 29, 2021. at 4:00PM ET/ 3:00PM CT/ 2:00PM MT/ 1:00PM PT/ 10:00AM HST. Register Here.
  • Thursday, December 2, 2021 at 7:00PM ET/ 6:00PM CT/ 5:00PM MT/ 4:00PM PT/ 1:00PM HST. Register Here.

Finally, try out our new Bystander Intervention Training to Support Latinx Communities In Public Spaces, just released last month in honor of Latinx Heritage Month!: 

  • Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT / 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00 AM HST. Register here.

Everyone hates trolls, *eye rolls*. Ugh, we can’t stand them. But sometimes online harassment goes beyond trolling, and can have very harmful impacts. To help, join our Bystander Intervention Training: How to Be An Ally When You Witness Online Abuse

  • Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 7:00PM ET/ 6:00PM CT/ 5:00PM MT/ 4:00PM PT/ 1:00PM HST. Register Here. 

Stay tuned for more Hollaback! updates.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *