A Week In Our Shoes: Do It With Pride

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

Happy PRIDE month! In honor of this month, here are some PRIDE  FACTS! Click this link for even more facts! 

  • In the United States, PRIDE came out of Protest! During the 1800s and 1900s, US states criminalized cross-dressing, drag, and other forms of challenging strict norms of gender and sexuality. Being gay, trans, and gender-nonconforming were all illegal. There were even laws that required you to wear at least 3 items of clothing that matched your “legal gender” (whatever you were assigned at birth), and you could be arrested for not doing so! The police regularly harassed drag queens, trans women, and sex workers who dared to exist in public. 
  • In the 1950s and 60s, drag queens and trans women of color in cities such as Los Angeles, San Francisco, and New York stood up and fought back against the police who harassed them, throwing everything they could get their hands on at them. That meant coffee and donuts in some places, high heels and purses in others, and perhaps most famously, bricks. Without these brave individuals — such as Felicia “Flames” Elizondo at Compton’s Cafeteria in San Francisco; Alexei Romanoff at the Black Cat Tavern in LA; and Marsha P. Johnson and Sylvia Rivera at the Stonewall Inn in New York — we wouldn’t have the PRIDE movement!
  • Brenda Howard, a bisexual-rights activist, is considered the “Mother of PRIDE” and was heavily responsible for coordinating the first PRIDE March in 1970! She also suggested having a weeklong series of events around the March, and that inspired the way we celebrate PRIDE all around the world today! 
  • PRIDE actually started out as an acronym that stands for “Personal Rights in Defense and Education (P.R.I.D.E.).” This was the name of one of the activist groups that helped organize some of these protests! Back then, they had to plan and organize actions without the convenience of the internet and social media — but they persevered and used a phone tree to plan protests! 

With PRIDE, we ALL can contribute to dismantling the transphobic and homophobic narratives which exist in society. Hollaback! will continue to stand in solidarity and will always fight against the discrimination and dehumanization of the LGBTQIA+ community. 

And with PRIDE, we are over-the-moon excited to be offering a free training to address anti-LGBTQIA+ harassment. We’ll be talking about how microaggressions and violence show up against the LGBTQIA+ community and what you can do to stop them. Update your calendars because there are 4 training session dates available throughout June. Don`t miss out!  

To join our Bystander Intervention Training To Stop LGBTQ+ Harassment, take a look:

  • Thursday, June 10th 2021 at 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.
  • Thursday, June 17th 2021 at 4:00PM ET/ 3:00PM CT/ 2:00PM MT/ 1:00PM PT/ 10:00AM HST. Register Here.
  • Wednesday, June 23rd 2021 at 6:00PM ET/ 5:00PM CT/ 4:00PM MT/ 3:00PM PT/ 12:00PM HST. Register Here.
  • Monday, June 28th 2021 at 5:00PM ET/ 4:00PM CT/ 3:00PM MT/ 2:00PM PT/ 11:00AM HST. Register Here.

And for more information about this training, click https://www.ihollaback.org/bystander-intervention-to-stop-lgbtq-harassment/.

“It is certain, in any case, that ignorance, allied with power, is the most ferocious enemy justice can have,” the inimitable James Baldwin wrote in his non-fiction book No Name in the Street. What’s more this June? Juneteenth of course. Juneteenth goes by many other names: Freedom Day, Jubilee Day, Liberation Day, and Emancipation Day. But what they all commemorate is the official emancipation of all those who were enslaved in the United States. To honor this important occasion, and to recognize the work that still remains to truly protect and bolster the Black community in the US, on the day before Juneteenth we will be hosting our Bystander Intervention Training to Stop Police-Sponsored Violence and Anti-Black Racist Harassment. 

To kick-start your Juneteenth celebration, please sign up for that special training date here:

  • Friday, June 18th 2021 at  2:00PM ET/ 1:00PM CT/ 12:00PM MT/ 11:00AM PT/ 8:00AM HST. Register Here.

And if you’d like to get started even earlier, we have got your back and are also hosting this training a week prior: 

  • Friday, June 11th 2021 at 3:00PM ET/ 2:00PM CT/ 1:00PM MT/ 12:00PM PT/ 9:00AM HST. Register Here.

If you want to add another type of training session to your calendar this week, try our Bystander Training to Stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment: 

  • Tuesday, June 8th 2021 at 6:00 PM ET/ 5:00PM CT/ 4:00PM MT/ 3:00PM PT/ 12:00PM HST. Register Here.

Also, try our Stand Up Against Street Harassment: 

  • Tuesday, June 8th 2021 at 11:00AM ET/ 10:00AM CT/ 9:00AM MT/ 8:00AM PT/ 5:00AM HST. Register Here.
  •  Sunday, June 13th 2021 at 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

Around The World

Croatia

Shout out to the Hollaback!Croatia team, who had a Facebook live interview with organizations that deal with human rights. They shared with us: “We made videos of places where street harassment took place and then when people saw it on Facebook, they could click on the link next to the video and read the whole story.” Head to their Facebook page to check it out. We’re thrilled to see each and every Hollaback! Chapter being aligned with their vision.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *