A Week In Our Shoes: Trailblazing Women in Leadership

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

As we await the monumental harvest of Women’s History Month, throughout the flowering stage we would like to give you folks just a few teasers. In today’s edition of “A Week In Our Shoes” we are excited to share our upcoming work. In honor of International Women’s Day, we are thrilled to share #HollabackMeets, a series of short interviews via Instagram Live, with our partners from around the world in a Global Coalition Against Street Harassment. Want to know more? Well, our very own Ana Velasquez will be conducting these short 15-min interviews. Catch them March 1-5 on Instagram Live @ihollagram! Make space on your calendar because you would definitely not want to miss out. Check out the schedule: 

  • Monday, March 1 at 10:30am EST / 9pm IST: ElsaMarie D’Silva of SafeCity, India
  • Tuesday, March 2 at 3:30pm EST: Holly Kearl of Stop Street Harassment, USA
  • Wednesday, March 3 at 10am EST: Sophie Sandberg of Chalk Back, USA
  • Thursday, March 4 at 10:30am EST / 3:30pm GMT: Eliza Hatch of Cheer Up Luv, UK
  • Friday, March 5 at 10am EST / 5pm EET: Rebecca Chiao of HarassMap, Egypt
  • Friday, March 5 at 1pm EST / 6pm GMT: Jillian Kowalchuk of Safe & The City, UK and Germany

That’s not all. We’ve got more events available.

Hollaback! is offering Stand Up Against Street Harassment Training sessions, every week in March!

Please join us if you haven’t yet, and spread the word as we aim to educate ALL on Street Harassment with our “Stand Up Against Street Harassment” Bystander Training sessions.

  • Thursday, March 4th, 2021. 12:00 pm ET/ 11:00 am CT/ 10:00 am MT/ 09:00 am PT/ 07:00 am HST Register Here
  • Monday, March 8th, 2021. 3:00 pm ET/ 2:00 pm CT/ 1:00 pm MT/ 12:00 pm PT/ 10:00 am HST Register Here

Around The World

The Bahamas

Shout Out to Hollaback!Bahamas! This awesome team partnered with Equality Bahamas for “Women’s Wednesdays” on the topic “Redefining Leadership.” A heartfelt thank you to guest moderator, Aneesah Abdullah from the Sustainable Development Goals Unit, Office of the Prime Minister. A series of concerns were answered and addressed during this event. They are as follows:

-What do we need from our current women leaders in order to create real change? 

– How do we measure women’s leadership value? How do we refrain from essentializing women as leaders?

– What kind of leadership do we want to see among leaders in various sectors? How can feminist leadership be manifested in those sectors

– How do we address power in the context of women’s leadership?

For those who’ve missed out, we have your back! Feel free to check out the discussion by clicking this link: https://www.facebook.com/equality242/videos/226744165784474/

Have any questions or feedback for Hollaback!Bahamas? Check them out on Facebook or Twitter at @HollaBack242. 

Thanks again Hollaback!Bahamas for an amazing event. 

Detroit

Shout Out to Hollaback! Detroit! This Hollaback! chapter has created a workshop for male-identifying folks who want to learn more about bystander intervention and about unlearning socialization. If you, a friend, a family member, or someone you know would be interested in this virtual event, the registration link is bit.ly/bcuberegistration. #NoOneLeftOut. 

 

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *