A Week In Our Shoes: United & Strong

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

Is it Friday already? WOW. 

NOW that we’re virtually together, let’s check in with each other in this week’s edition of “A Week In Our Shoes.” Welcome. Bienvenidos. Dobrodošli. 

Let’s get to it, shall we? In response to the recent harassment in Harlem, NY, Hollaback! is hosting a “Stand Up To Street Harassment” virtual community forum. It is in partnership with the Greater New York Chapter of the Links, Incorporated, and NYU McSilver Institute. This will take place in about two weeks, on Thursday, February 25th at 6:00 pm via Zoom. This interactive discussion will be led by experts from Hollaback! and of course, is free and open to the public. To register and receive Zoom login credentials visit http://bit.ly/stand-up-2021

*Moving along gingerly*

Will you be my quarantine next week (Tuesday Feb. 16) at the launch of the new training on “Bystander Intervention to Stop Stigma Around Learning Differences” with Eye to Eye? This is an awesome opportunity to equip ourselves with the appropriate tools to support people who experience harassment and disrespect due to learning differences. During this pandemic, we have all been impacted differently. Hollas, do you know of anyone in need of assistance due to these issues? If yes, then let’s make it a Watch-Party! Let us be each other’s support and learn together. 

To join us for our Bystander Intervention To Stop Stigma Around Learning Differences Training, the dates and times are below:

  • Tuesday, February 16, 2021. 1:00pm ET/ 12:00pm CT/ 11:00am MT/ 10:00am PT/ 7:00am HST. Register Here.

We are also facilitating another type of Bystander Intervention Training: How To Respond To Anti-Asian/American Harassment When It Happens to You.

  • Monday, February 15, 2021. 2:00pm ET/1:00pm CT/ 12:00pm MT/ 11:00am PT/ 09:00am HST Register Here.

Are you looking for something a tad bit different? Are you looking to delve deeper into how to de-escalate conflict? We got your back.

Register for our Conflict De-escalation Training, for that hands-on approach you may seek:

  • Friday, February 19, 2021. 6:00 PM ET/ 5:00pm CT/ 4:00pm MT/ 3:00pm PT/ 1:00 pm HST. Register Here.

Around The World

Croatia

Dobar dan Hollaback! Croatia!! Hvala for all the amazing work that you do! Join Hollaback! Croatia in support of the “Women for Women” initiative which plans to gather essential items for women who live in the area that was devastated by the earthquake at the end of the year. Their goal is to collect donations of any kind by February 14, 2021, which could be packed in a box. In this box you can pack from hygiene items to personal items like scarves, shawls, gloves, socks, and seeds for planting. These kind donations/gifts will be given to women in Glina, Petrinja and Sisak. For additional information with regards to where to drop off the packages, please follow @Hollaback!CRO on Facebook. Please, we kindly ask you to assist in any way, shape or form to these women.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *