A Week In Our Shoes: Talk That Talk. Walk That Walk.

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

Are you walking out of an intense week like, “Oh Hell Yes to the weekend”?

End your week right with these updates! It’s that time again where you get to tick off the “read Hollaback!’s A Week In Our Shoes Newsletter” on your Friday Plans Check-List. So plop yourself on a comfy seat as we get to the updates!

We are super proud to announce a brand new training series with our partners at Eye to Eye. This is  an awesome organization that is working tirelessly to unlock the inner greatness of folks with learning differences. 

Since studies have shown that 1 out of every 5 people learn differently, this partnership was the impetus to the creation of a training called “Bystander Intervention to Stop Stigma Around Learning Differences.” We are over the moon excited about this partnership because it gives active bystanders a chance to equip themselves with the appropriate tools to support people who experience harassment due to learning differences. Check out the upcoming training sessions below!

Join us for our Bystander Intervention to Stop Stigma Around Learning Differences Training on the date and times below: 

  • Tuesday, February 16, 2021. 1:00pm ET/ 12:00pm CT/ 11:00am MT/ 10:00am PT/ 7:00am HST. Register Here.

 

We are also facilitating a public free training for Bystander Intervention to Stop Police Sponsored Violence and Anti-Black Racist Harassment; register below:

  •  Tuesday, February 9, 2021. 05:00 PM ET/ 04:00 PM CT/ 03:00 PM MT/ 02:00 PM PT/ 12:00 PM HST. Register Here

 

Register for the next upcoming Stand Up Against Street Harassment training and become part of the movement: 

  • Thursday, February 11, 2021. 11:00 AM ET/ 10:00 AM CT/ 09:00 AM MT/ 08:00 AM PT/ 06:00 AM HST Register Here

 

Around The World

Baltimore

To: Shawna Potter

Wherever life takes you….

With the cool and gentle breeze of opportunities,

Our thoughts are with you, 

May you grow wherever you are planted,

Blossom wherever there is sunlight,

Although we wish your tenure lasted,

We know you will continue the fight.

                                                   -Asha Nelson

This is our very last shout out to Baltimore’s site leader, Shawna Potter. You have done such tremendous work over the years for Hollaback! Baltimore, and of course, proudly representing Hollaback! with all that you have. We metaphorically and virtually present you with a badge of Hollaback! honor. You will surely be missed! Special thanks also to Shawna’s co-leadership: Melanie Keller, Brittany Oliver, Leah Michaels, and Matt Morgan. We bid you a farewell and best of luck in your future endeavours. You will always be remembered here. P.S. Please try to stay in touch with us. *sigh, we miss you*

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *