A Week In Our Shoes: SixNineteen Power!

From Hollaback! HQ

Welcome to the latest edition of “ A Week In Our Shoes”. Juneteenth marks a special day for African- Americans across the United States. This is a crucial and important date in American history as it is a celebration of freedom and liberty for African-Americans. On this day, we reflect on the persistent battles with systemic oppression, racial injustices and acts of terror suffered by people of color. 

 Many activists such as James Baldwin in the 60’s have highlighted racial tensions, historical injustices, and the limited ways in which persons think and address race. Today we answer Baldwin, when he quoted,   “Trapped in history which they do not understand”. Folks have made an effort to shift the racial paradigm by educating each other on the country’s history and how white supremacy has crippled Black people as well as people of color.

Join us as we are mark Juneteenth by providing a FREE one hour training session as part of sixnineteen.com‘s weekend of action to #DefendBlackLives . To RSVP to our event this Friday, feel free to click the link below:

https://act.sixnineteen.com/event/attend/138?nr=1&akid=.108890.yaHs67 

Upcoming Trainings

In standing in SOLIDARITY and LOVE as we fight for justice, we’ve just launched a new training, Bystander Intervention to Stop Police Sponsored Violence & Anti-Black Racist Harassment.This is a free, one-hour, interactive training to train people on how to safely intervene in the face of police violence and anti-black racism using Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention.

  • Friday, June 19th, 2020 at 2:00pm ET/ 1:00pm CT/ 12:00pm MT/ 11:00am PT/ 8:00am HST. Register Here. 

“When we speak we are afraid our words will not be heard nor welcomed, but when we are silent we are still afraid, so it is better to speak.” – Audre Lorde

Around The World

Detroit

Shout out to Hollaback!Detroit, for a job well done. Hollaback! Detroit leaders @brooke_suzanne @light.mink @sicilyiam were working tirelessly at the Youth March in Eastern Market. Check out their IG post @hollabackdetroit and show them love. 

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *