Bystander Intervention to To Stop Stigma Around Learning Differences

WE WOULD LIKE TO INVITE YOU TO ATTEND THE NEXT FREE TRAINING:

Please note you must register in advance for all trainings. 

  • Tuesday, February 23rd at  1:00pm ET/ 12:00pm CT/ 11:00am MT/ 10:00am PT/ 7:00am HST. Register Here.

WORKSHOP DESCRIPTION

According to a survey conducted by Eye to Eye, an organization working to unlock greatness in the 1 out of every 5 people who learn differently, 74% of students and young adults with learning differences/learning disabilities (LD) said that they had experienced harassment (isolation, bullying, mistreatment, and or discrimination) in the classroom or workplace, and  84% said they wished someone stepped in and helped.

We partnered with Eye to Eye to develop this training to close that gap, because we know that just one intervention can profoundly change a person’s experience of disrespect and harassment.  

This one-hour, interactive training will teach you Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention methodology. We’ll start by talking about the types of stigma that people who learn differently—including those with specific learning disabilities (LD) like dyslexia, or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)—face right now using a tool we call the “spectrum of disrespect.” You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities.

We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and what to consider when intervening. We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see stigma perpetuated around learning differences online or in person.

RESOURCES

Additional tools to help you address harassment and disrepect:

TALK TO OUR TEAM

To connect with a member of our training team and learn more about how we can customize this training for your team or business, please complete the form below:

Please choose the number of employees in your organization.