MULTILINGUAL TRAINING: BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP ANTI-ASIAN/AMERICAN HARASSMENT AND XENOPHOBIA WORKSHOP

Hollaback! has partnered with Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC to adapt our free bystander intervention training to support the AAPI community. After the rise in Anti-Asian/American and xenophobic harassment in the U.S., we have been offering tools and sharing the message that hate, including racism and xenophobia, is unacceptable in all of its forms.

We’re now offering sessions with translations and simultaneous interpretation in Chinese (中文) both Mandarin (普通話) and Cantonese (粤语), Korean (한국어) and Vietnamese (Tiếng Việt).

Workshop Description

English

This 75-minute, interactive training will teach you Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention methodology — now available in Chinese, including Cantonese and Mandarin! We’ll start by talking about the types of disrespect that Asian and Asian American folks are facing right now — from microaggressions to violence — using a tool we call the “spectrum of disrespect.” You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities. We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening. We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see anti-Asian/American harassment online or in person.

Chinese

在這一個75 分鐘的互動性培訓中,我們將教你學會Hollaback!組織開發的旁觀者可以使用的5D’s 干預方法。 現提供中文版,包括粵語和普通話!首先,我們要講解和列舉亞裔人和亞裔美國人目前所面對的各種不敬言行 – 從微型攻擊到暴力襲擊 – 給大家展示我們稱之為“不敬言行的一覽圖。” 您將學會怎樣查看和鑑別這些言行,了解旁觀者的干預將會給個人和社區帶來的積極影響。我們會介紹旁觀者可以採用的五種干預策略:轉移注意力,找人協助,記錄證據,推遲行動,直接干預;以及在干預過程中怎樣優先保證自己的安全。在培訓結束之前,我們會安排時間讓你練習應用學到的策略,這樣你在下次看到(現實中或在網上)反亞裔種族主義和仇外騷擾的言行時,就可以更有信心地做出有效的干預。

HINDI
[ Translated workshop description coming soon! ]

KOREAN
1시간 15분  길이 대화형 교육으로 Hollaback!이 고안해낸 주변인 개입법의 5대 원칙을 가르쳐드립니다(이제 한국어로도 만나보실 수 있습니다!) 미묘한 차별부터 심하게는 폭력까지, 아시아인 및 아시아계 미국인들이 현재 일어나고있는 괄시에 관해 이야기하는 것으로 시작하요 끊어보겠습니다. 우리가 “괄시의 스펙트럼”이라고 부르는 도구를 사용해보죠. 어떤 점에 주의를 기울여야 할지, 그리고 주변인 개입이, 개인 및 공동체에 어떠한 긍정적인 영향을 끼치는지 가르쳐드리겠습니다. 또한 개입의 다섯 전략인: 관심 돌리기, 도움 구하기, 상황 기록하기, 후속 조치하기, 직접 개입하기, 그리고 개입 시 개인 안전을 우선시하는 방법을 설명할 예정입니다. 아시아계 미국인을 대상으로 한 온라인/직접적인 괴롭힘을 마주했을 때 자신감 있게 대처하실 수 있도록 교육 막바지에는 연습할 시간을 드릴 예정입니다.

VIETNAMESE
Buổi tập huấn tương tác kéo dài một giờ mười lăm phút sẽ hướng dẫn bạn về giải pháp can thiệp người ngoài cuộc 5D của Hollaback! — hiện đã có phiên bản tiếng Việt! Chúng ta sẽ bắt đầu bằng cách trao đổi về các hình thức quấy rối mà Người Châu Á và Người Mỹ Gốc Á đang phải đối mặt – từ các hành vi gây gổ đến hành vi bạo lực — sử dụng công cụ mà chúng tôi gọi là “chuỗi quấy rối”. Bạn sẽ biết nên tìm kiếm những gì và hiểu can thiệp người ngoài cuộc sẽ có tác động tích cực như thế nào tới các cá nhân và cộng đồng. Chúng ta sẽ cùng trao đổi về năm chiến lược can thiệp: gây mất tập trung, nhờ cậy, ghi chép, trì hoãn và trực tiếp; và làm sao để ưu tiên sự an toàn của bạn trong khi can thiệp. Chúng ta sẽ có thời gian để thực hành ở cuối buổi, và bạn sẽ cảm thấy tự tin hơn khi can thiệp nếu chứng kiến có hành vi quấy rối kỳ thị Người Mỹ Gốc Á, dù là trực tuyến hay trực tiếp.

TAGALOG
[ Translated workshop description coming soon! ]

THAI
[ Translated workshop description coming soon! ]

TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • This session offers translations and simultaneous interpretation in Tagalog! Wednesday, November 17, 2021. 7:00PM ET/ 6:00PM CT/ 5:00PM MT/ 4:00PM PT/ 1:00PM HST. Register Here.
  • This session offers translations and simultaneous interpretation in Thai (ภาษาไทย)! Monday, November 22, 2021. 8:00PM ET/ 7:00PM CT/ 6:00PM MT/ 5:00PM PT/ 12:00PM HST. Register Here.
  • This session offers translations and simultaneous interpretation in Hindi (हिन्दी)! Monday, December 16, 2021. 8:00PM ET/ 7:00PM CT/ 6:00PM MT/ 5:00PM PT/ 12:00PM HST. Register Here.

RESOURCES:

HOW YOU CAN HELP:

Donations are critical to our ability to continue these trainings. If you believe that Asian/Americans deserve to walk down the street or go to the grocery store without fear of harassment or worse, and you believe that all of us have a role in ending harassment, please donate.

To support the continuation of this training, donate to Hollaback! and donate to Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC.

You can see Hollaback!’s financials and annual reports here and find our privacy policy here.