STAND UP AGAINST STREET HARASSMENT | Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment STAND UP AGAINST STREET HARASSMENT | Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment

Loading Events

« Get Trained

  • This event has passed.

STAND UP AGAINST STREET HARASSMENT

June 13 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Sunday, June 13th 2021 at 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

How can we take action if we don’t know what to do? Hollaback! is offering this free, one-hour, interactive training to train people on how to safely intervene when you witness street harassment — or experience it yourself.

During this training you’ll learn a clear, adaptable, and expert-approved set of tools that have been proven to reduce the prevalence of street harassment: Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention.

We’ll start by deepening our understanding of street harassment and its impact. Then, we’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening. We’ll also talk about what to do if you’re worried the violence will turn on you and how to avoid escalating the situation.

Then, we’ll talk about what to do if you experience harassment and give you tools to safely get your power back. We’ll have time at the end for practice. Exit polls show 98.8% of attendees leave the training feeling like there is at least one thing they can do the next time they witness harassment.

 

(In response to the rise in Anti-Asian/American harassment, we partnered with Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC to adapt our bystander intervention training to meet this moment. Sign up)

Details

Date:
June 13
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Website:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_vMmi2tDJSVaVXY7OawziLg