BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP ANTI-ASIAN/AMERICAN HARASSMENT AND XENOPHOBIA WORKSHOP | Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP ANTI-ASIAN/AMERICAN HARASSMENT AND XENOPHOBIA WORKSHOP | Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment

Loading Events

« Get Trained

BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP ANTI-ASIAN/AMERICAN HARASSMENT AND XENOPHOBIA WORKSHOP

October 21 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Visual notes created for Houston Coalition Against Hate on May 3rd, 2021

Thursday, October 21, 2021. 11:00AM ET/ 10:00AM CT/ 9:00AM MT/ 7:00AM PT/ 4:00AM HST. Register Here.

The one-hour, interactive training will teach you Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention methodology. We’ll start by talking about the types of disrespect that Asian and Asian American folks are facing right now — from microaggressions to violence — using a tool we call the “spectrum of disrespect.” You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities. We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening. We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see Anti-Asian/American harassment online or in person.

 

*New York City Teachers, for CTLE Credit please register with your NYC schools email.*

Details

Date:
October 21
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Website:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_lotRiH8eRei1xciSHUNQIQ