BYSTANDER INTERVENTION: HOW TO BE AN ALLY WHEN YOU WITNESS ONLINE ABUSE – Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment BYSTANDER INTERVENTION: HOW TO BE AN ALLY WHEN YOU WITNESS ONLINE ABUSE | Hollaback! Together We Have the Power to End Harassment

Loading Events

« Get Trained

  • This event has passed.

BYSTANDER INTERVENTION: HOW TO BE AN ALLY WHEN YOU WITNESS ONLINE ABUSE

January 14 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Friday, January 14, 2022 at 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

As more of our personal and professional lives go digital, online hate and harassment are on the rise. Abusive trolls join forces to disproportionately target BIPOCs, women, and LGBTQ+ folks to intimidate, discredit, and silence. Each and every one of us can be an ally. In this free, one-hour, interactive training, we’ll give you the tools you need to intervene safely and effectively in online abuse using Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention.

First, we’ll talk through what online harassment is and how to identify abusive tactics. We’ll discuss the severe impact online abuse can have – on well being, livelihoods, and free expression – and how it’s drowning out voices that urgently need to be heard in public discourse. Then we’ll share concrete strategies for how to distract, delegate, document, delay, or directly intervene in a way that is safe, effective, and centered on the needs of the person being targeted. We’ll have time to practice so you can leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see someone being abused online. We hope you’ll join us to learn how we can all band together to make the internet a safer, more diverse, and more equitable place.

 

*New York City Teachers, for CTLE Credit please register with your NYC schools email.*

Details

Date:
January 14
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Website:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_ZUHSlfLwRs-fzSAmV6bZ5w