Bystander Intervention to Support Latinx communities in Public Spaces Training

WE WOULD LIKE TO INVITE YOU TO ATTEND A FREE TRAINING:

  • Tuesday, October 26, 2021 at 12:00PM ET/ 11:00AM CT / 10:00AM MT/ 9:00AM PT/ 6:00AM HST. Register here.
  • Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT / 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00 AM HST. Register here.

We’ve had a tremendous demand for our free training series and our trainings regularly sell out. Please note you must register in advance for all trainings. They will be capped at 5,000 people.

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. Please note at the moment this training may not be ADA compliant. 

Workshop Description

In honor of Latino Heritage Month and to bring awareness to the increase of harassment toward the Latinx community in recent years, Hollaback! is offering a free, one-hour, interactive training to train people on how to safely intervene when they witness Latinx people experiencing harassment in public using Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention.

We’ll start by talking about the types of violence and harassment the Latinx community is experiencing right now from microaggressions to assault through exploring the Spectrum of Disrespect toward Latinx Communities. We will then discuss how the diversity of identities of Latinx people intersects with other marginalized identities to make the community vulnerable to experiencing multiple incidences of harassment at once. Anti-Latinx harassment and xenophobia are not a new phenomenon in our country. But in recent years with the rise in anti-immigrant, anti-Latinx, anti-LGBTQ, and anti-BIPOC policies and rhetoric we have seen a rise in harassment, discrimination, and even violence toward this community. 

You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities. We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: Distract, Delegate, Document, Delay, and Direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening. We’ll also talk about what to do if you’re a person of color worried the violence will turn on you, and how to avoid being a “white savior.”  We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see anti-Latinx harassment happening in public. 

RESOURCES

TALK TO OUR TEAM:

To discuss organizational engagement with Hollaback! via our specialized company-wide training opportunities, our Corporate Accomplice Program, or Corporate Sponsorships programs, please email [email protected].
If you are interested in our free trainings that you can register for now, click here.