BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP LGBTQ+ HARASSMENT

WE WOULD LIKE TO INVITE YOU TO ATTEND A FREE TRAINING:

Please note our training dates and times are currently sold out. Check out our Stand Up Against Street Harassment trainings where Hollaback! and L’Oréal Paris have joined forces to address gender based violence.

We’ve had a tremendous demand for our free training series and our trainings regularly sell out. Please note you must register in advance for all trainings. They will be capped at 1,000 people.

Training dates and times:

  • Wednesday, June 24th at 4:30pm ET/ 3:30pm CT/ 2:30pm MT/ 1:30pm PT/ 10:30am HST. Register Here. (SOLD OUT)
  • Thursday, June 25th at 2:00pm ET/ 1:00pm CT/ 12:00pm MT/ 11:00am PT/ 8:00am HST. Register Here. (SOLD OUT)

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. The training is currently only offered in English but we are seeking funding to expand it into other languages. Additionally, please note at the moment this training may not be ADA compliant. 

WORKSHOP DESCRIPTION

This one-hour, interactive training will teach you Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention methodology. We’ll start by talking about the types of disrespect that LGBTQ+ folks are facing right now — from microaggressions to violence — using a tool we call the “spectrum of disrespect.” You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities. We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening. We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see anti-LGBTQ+ harassment online or in person.

OUR GOAL:

We want to help people to respond to immediate threats to LGTBQ+ folks with an end goal of sustained community and systemic change, preventing and responding to violence and harassment.

We are invested in finding proactive and empowering solutions to harassment in public spaces, and to develop strategies to prevent and reduce trauma in individuals before they internalize feelings of shame, fear, isolation, or depression – or before harassment escalates to violence. 

Studies show that effective programmatic interventions that satisfy people’s need for “connection, support, safety, and identity development” (Paceley, 2016) contribute to resilience within LGBTQ+ folks. With this program, Hollaback! is working to respond to harassment in an effective, proven way that elevates LGBTQ+ leadership, all while building spaces of resilience and community. 

RESOURCES:

TALK TO OUR TEAM:

To connect with a member of our training team and learn more about how we can customize this training for your team or business, please complete the form below:

Please choose the number of employees in your organization.