A Week In Our Shoes: Holla Action!

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

We beam with pride as we celebrate International Human Rights Day with you. To us, human rights mean that everyone`s voice counts, regardless of race, gender, and ethnicity. This means removing the veil and confronting head-on the many societal factors that contribute to dehumanizing persons. Members of the Black community statistically experience higher rates of police-sponsored violence; transgender folks suffer grievous harm or assault for simply living their truth in public, the Asian community has experience an increase in hate crimes in the last couple years; and the list goes on. These experiences are not limited to a single group or community because our experiences, like our identities, tend to intersect or overlap. Although we each walk a different path, one thing we all have in common is being HUMAN. So today, let’s encourage each other not only to build awareness of issues, but to take ACTION for the love of our fellow humans. 

A heartfelt thank you to all the Hollas who’ve inspired us by taking action these 16 Days of Activism. Even though today, International Human Rights Day, is the last day of 16 Days, that doesn’t mean we stop taking action. 16 Days may be ending, but together, we are all changing the culture of harassment 365 days a year. When we Stand Up – when we intervene, when we spread the word about bystander intervention, when we share our stories – we do our small part to shift the culture. And together, our actions add up. Tonight as we close 16 Days and look ahead to continue the movement, join us on Facebook Live at 7pm EST for a roundtable discussion (with some surprise special guests!) on ending gender-based violence. We’ll also premiere a special video surprise to celebrate all of you who have joined us to Stand Up Against Street Harassment – don’t miss it!

Speaking of taking ACTION, bring a friend along to our Bystander Intervention Training To Stop Anti-Asian/American Harassment And Xenophobia Workshop (Hindi!): This session offers translations and simultaneous interpretation in Hindi! 

  • Thursday, December 16, 2021. 8:00PM ET/ 7:00PM CT/ 6:00PM MT/ 5:00PM PT/ 2:00PM HST. Register Here.

OR

Bystander Intervention Training To Stop Anti-Asian/American Harassment And Xenophobia in English: 

  • Wednesday, January 5, 2022. 3:00PM ET/ 2:00PM CT/ 1:00PM MT/ 12:00PM PT/ 9:00AM HST. Register Here.

Harassment is NEVER okay. Today, on International Human Rights Day, Stand Up Against       Street Harassment by joining our Bystander Intervention training to Stand Up Against Street Harassment:

  • Saturday, December 18, 2021 at 3:00PM ET/ 2:00 PM CT/ 1:00PM MT/ 12:00PM PT/ 9:00AM HST. Register Here.
  • Tuesday, December 28, 2021 at 1:00PM EST/ 12:00PM  CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *