A Week In Our Shoes: Ready Or Not, Here We Come

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

There’s just one legitimate synonym for FRIDAY: A WIOS Newsletter, of course!!! We made it to FRIDAY! So, put on your reading glasses and get ready for a “Hollaback! Experience.” What’s first on the agenda? We are honored to have had a live streamed roundtable discussion on Facebook called, “Let’s Talk,” where we dug deep into the root causes and harmful impacts of anti-Black racist harassment, in both interpersonal and systemic contexts. The roundtable discussion featured Michael S. Williams, Founder of the Black on Black Project, and Bridgett Floyd, President and CEO of the George Floyd Memorial Foundation and sister of the late George Floyd. Shout out to Hollaback!’s own UniQue Webster who facilitated the event on Friday, November 5. If you missed it, you can still watch the roundtable on our Facebook page – and make sure to follow us on Facebook for more content and events like this: https://www.facebook.com/ihollaback.

Also… *drum rolls please* … we are also proud to announce the relaunch of Heartmob, our initiative against online harassment, and the Coalition Against Online Violence’s Online Violence Resources Hub as tools that complement each other to support women and gender expansive journalists who are enduring disproportionate levels of harassment just for doing their jobs. With the generous support of Craig Newmark Philanthropies and research partnership of the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF), Hollaback! has worked to re-design and scale HeartMob. At Hollaback! we are #HereForJournalists.

Let’s stand in solidarity and work against LGBTQIA+ harassment. Do your part by joining us at our Bystander Intervention Training to Stop LGBTQIA+ Harassment:

  •  Monday, November 15, 2021. 7:00PM ET/ 6:00PM CT/ 5:00PM MT/ 4:00PM PT/ 1:00PM HST. Register Here.
  • Wednesday, November 17, 2021. 11:00AM ET/ 10:00AM CT/ 9:00AM MT/ 8:00AM PT/ 5:00AM HST. Register Here.

To kick-start or continue disrupting the xenophobic and racist harassment, try our Bystander Intervention to Stop Anti-Asian/American Harassment and Xenophobia Workshop (Tagalog). This session offers translations and simultaneous interpretation in Tagalog!

  • Wednesday, November 17, 2021. 7:00PM ET/ 6:00PM CT/ 5:00PM MT/ 4:00PM PT/ 1:00PM HST. Register Here.

Street harassment affects so many, but is never okay! Join our Bystander Training to Stand Up Against Street Harassment and learn how together we can combat this issue in our culture:

  •  Friday, November 19, 2021 at 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *