A Week In Our Shoes: Better Together

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

Thanks for joining the Hollaback! Party! What took you so long? Now that you’re here, welcome to the latest edition of  “A Week In Our Shoes.” We at HQ would like to highlight the importance of the 5Ds of Bystander Intervention. Oftentimes, bystanders may feel that they are ill-equipped to assist in the matter. TODAY, we change that narrative. What’s worse than being targeted with harassment because of your race, sex, religion, color, gender, size, orientation, disability, age, or origin? Being targeted while surrounded by bystanders who see what is happening, but then do nothing. You can be that beacon of hope for someone.

But what about my own safety? That’s a common question we get a lot. Using our resources and free Bystander Intervention Training sessions, you can critically assess which method is appropriate for the specified situation, as your safety comes first. The 5Ds are different methods you can use to support someone who’s being harassed, to emphasize that harassment is not okay, and demonstrate to people in your life that they too have the power to make our communities and workplaces safer. We want everyone to be able to access this information, for free! You can find lots of bystander intervention resources here: https://www.ihollaback.org/bystander-resources/

But the party’s not over! Our wonderful partners at Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC announced us as this year’s Changemaker Award honoree. We would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to this organization we’re lucky enough to collaborate with, and to everyone who has supported our movement throughout the years. The gratitude we feel can hardly be expressed! The progress we’ve all made together would not have been possible if it wasn’t for the tremendous support, shared values and missions, and most importantly, teamwork. The Changemaker Award will be presented at the American Courage Awards, Thursday, November 18 at 6pm ET. RSVP here

The love doesn’t stop! With the outpouring of support from you all, Hollaback! was one of the first winners of the 2021 Top-Rated Award from GreatNonprofits. Click here for Hollaback!’s profile on the GreatNonProfits site. And you can find the other honorees listed here.  

Want something specific? Diversified? We got you! Sign up for our “How To Respond To Harasmment For People Experiencing Anti-Asian/American Harassment Training session:

  • Tuesday, November 2, 2021 at 3:00PM ET/ 2:00PM CT/ 1:00PM MT/ 12:00PM PT/ 9:00AM HST. Register Here.

 Or sharpen your strategic skills at our “Stand Up Against Street Harassment” Training

  • Thursday, November 4, 2021 at 2:00PM ET/ 1:00PM CT/ 12:00PM MT/ 11:00AM PT/ 8:00AM HST. Register Here.

To harness your inner Bystander Intervention Superpower, register for our “Bystander Intervention 2.0: Conflict De-Escalation Training Workshop” session:

  • Friday, November 5, 2021. 2:00PM ET/ 1:00PM CT/ 12:00PM MT/ 11:00AM PT/ 8:00AM HST. Register Here. 

Stay tuned for more Hollaback! updates.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *