A Week In Our Shoes: Another Day in Solidarity

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

Tadaaahhhh, it’s Friday! You know what that means, right? Take the Hollaback! route today and check out the latest updates in this week’s newsletter. This month is extra special as we celebrate Latinx Heritage Month. To commemorate this auspicious occasion, we are going to test you with some True or False questions on the facts of Latinx Heritage Month. Let us know how many you got correct. Don’t worry, it’s an open book exam. Here are some of the facts:

True or False? Latinx Heritage Month actually begins in the middle of one month and ends in the middle of the next month. 

True! Yes, it begins September 15th and ends October 15th. Why? It begins on September 15th in accordance with national independence days for countries such as Guatemala, Honduras, Costa Rica and El Salvador. Several other countries celebrate their independence shortly after the 15th: Mexico on September 16th, followed by Chile on September 18th, and Belize on September 21st. 

This celebration originated in 1968.

True! This celebration was first introduced in June, 1968!

Latinx Heritage Month first began as a week-long celebration.

True! It wasn’t until 1988 that Latinx Heritage Month became a full month!

How many did you get right? Feel free to share with us other facts and how you celebrated this occasion.

While Latinx Heritage Month is about honoring and celebrating the Latinx community, it is also important to bring awareness to the increased harassment toward the Latinx community, Hollaback! is offering a free, one-hour, interactive training to train people on how to safely intervene when they witness Latinx people experiencing harassment in public using Hollaback!’s 5Ds of bystander intervention. Register here. 

What’s more? We’ve been chosen as one of 3 non-profit organizations receiving donations from CREDO Mobile this month. Awesome, right? How much we receive depends on your votes, and voting closes on October 30th! Each click helps us keep our bystander intervention training free. If you believe in bystander intervention and in ending harassment, vote for us here.

Let’s stand in Solidarity against Street Harassment by doing your part by joining us at our Bystander Intervention: Stand Up Against Street Harassment.

  • Monday, October 18, 2021 at 7:00PM ET/ 6:00PM CT/ 5:00PM MT/ 4:00PM PT/ 1:00PM HST. Register Here.

To kick-start or continue disrupting the xenophobic and racist harassment, join our Bystander Intervention to Stop Anti-Asian/American Harassment and Xenophobia: 

  • Thursday, October 21, 2021. 11:00AM ET/ 10:00AM CT/ 9:00AM MT/ 7:00AM PT/ 4:00AM HST. Register Here.

Stay tuned for more Hollaback! updates.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *