A Week In Our Shoes: Justice for ALL. NO CAP.

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

*hits snooze button* Um….hello Friday, what took you so long? To top off the week, let’s jump right into the latest edition of “A Week In Our Shoes.”

The word “allyship” has become a buzzword in recent years. It’s important to see allyship as multidimensional due to the complexities of its intersectionalities. Gender, race, ethnicity, class, religion and education are all factors we need to take into consideration when we think about our own privilege and choose to support another community. In today’s world, ideally, allyship is a person’s positive contribution to support a community, group, or person that is facing injustices. Allyship is also a verb — its central theme is about showing up and doing the work, rather than simply calling ourselves allies to a community without practicing what we’re preaching. Inherent to bystander intervention is the act of allyship.

This season, look out for three of our popular training sessions returning to the rotation. Please join us to learn how to be an “Ally of Online Harassment,” to learn “8 Tools to Mitigate Implicit Bias,” and to build your “Resilience in This Moment and Beyond.” These training sessions will be returning in August and September. Keep an eye on our Training Calendar and social media to catch them. 

Have you already taken all our bystander training sessions? We’ve got the perfect next step for you. Try our “Conflict De-escalation Training“:

  • Monday, August 9th 2021. 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

In response to the continued police violence against Black communities and lives, we are offering a free, one-hour, interactive training to train people on how to safely intervene in the face of police violence and anti-Black racism using Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention. To take action, sign up for our special Bystander Intervention Training to Stop Police Sponsored Violence and Anti-Black Harassment.

  • Monday, August 9th 2021. 5:00PM ET/ 4:00PM CT/ 3:00PM MT/ 2:00PM PT/ 11:00AM HST. Register Here.

Can’t wait to jump right into our Anti-Street Harassment Activities? You can take action RIGHT NOW. To sign up for “Stand Up Against Street Harassment” experience, check out the next available Bystander Training session here:

  • Thursday, August 12th 2021 at 6:00PM ET/ 5:00PM CT/ 4:00PM MT/ 3:00PM PT/ 12:00PM HST. Register Here.

Mark your calendars for our upcoming Bystander Trainings to stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment

  • Friday, August 13th 2021. 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

Stay tuned for more of our Hollaback! updates.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *