A Week In Our Shoes: Solid Foundation

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

Isn’t it awesome to know that we are waking up on Friday…the cusp of the weekend? In the midst of the Tokyo Olympics, we extend our love and appreciation to all the dedicated athletes who are representing their individual countries. But we would especially like to acknowledge the brave athletes who stood their ground and withdrew from the competition to focus on their mental health.  We salute and wholeheartedly support athletes such as Simone Biles, who withdrew from the individual round to focus on her well-being. The courage it takes to take such a stance is truly remarkable. It is time we normalize taking a break and putting ourselves first.

Let us be an ally to Simone Biles and other athletes by taking up a supportive role. We have noticed that this bravery will also attract haters & naysayers especially on social media…thus we urge you to learn how to be an “Ally of Online Harassment.” How can you do so? With us, of course. We are bringing three of our popular training sessions back into the rotation this summer and fall. Please join us to learn how to be an “Ally of Online Harassment,” to learn “8 Tools to Mitigate Implicit Bias,” and to build your “Resilience in This Moment and Beyond.” These free training sessions will be returning in August and September. Keep an eye on our Training Calendar to catch them. Stay tuned!

Also, we’re placing in your peripheral vision other types of Bystander Training sessions. Look out for our training sessions dedicated to Stand Up Against Street Harassment. Have you experienced this type of gender-based violence? Perhaps, a loved one? Try our “Stand Up Against Street Harassment” training session on: 

  • Wednesday, August 4, 2021 at 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00 HST. Register Here.

Let us disrupt xenophobic and racist harassment. Hey Siri, search Hollaback!’sBystander Intervention to Stop Anti-Asian/American Harassment and Xenophobia”: 

  • Wednesday, August 4, 2021. 6:00PM ET/ 5:00PM CT/ 4:00PM MT/ 3:00PM PT/ 12:00PM HST. Register Here.

Have you already taken all our bystander training sessions? We’ve got the perfect next step for you. Try our “Conflict De-escalation Training”:

  • Monday, August 9, 2021. 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

Join one of our upcoming training sessions as part of your commitment to participating in the movement against anti-Black racism and discrimination in our society. Try our “Bystander Intervention To Stop Police-Sponsored Violence & Anti-Black Racist Harassment”:

  • Monday, August 9, 2021. 5:00PM ET/ 4:00PM CT/ 3:00PM MT/ 2:00PM PT/ 11:00AM HST. Register Here.

Around The World

Detroit

Shout out to Hollaback!Detroit for being an awesome team. Continue making strides and creating interactive events. Thank you to the team at Hollaback!Detroit for contributing to the Detroit Safety Team and MiWAM’s event earlier this month: “Safety Sunday.” This event brought together community conversation, Bystander Training, and other fun activities. A heartfelt thank you to all the teams who made this event such a success. 

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *