A Week In Our Shoes: Freedom Street

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

You’ve got one thing left to do this awesome Friday: read our latest “A Week In Our Shoes” newsletter, of course. Welcome Hollas! Sit back, relax and enjoy as we keep you up to date with all things Hollaback!. This Saturday is a day of remembrance,  an Emancipation Day, celebrating African-American freedom. It’s Juneteenth! Juneteenth is a celebration of freedom, but it is also a reminder of the many injustices of past and present, and the disenfranchisement Black people face. James Baldwin once said, “It is certain, in any case, that ignorance, allied with power, is the most ferocious enemy justice can have.” With that being said, we ALL must do our part, in order to make the world a better place for one another by fighting against anti-Black racism through education and strategic action. 

Join one of our special training sessions this weekend as part of your commitment to participating in the movement against anti-Black racism and discrimination in our society. Try our Bystander Intervention to Stop Hate-Based Harassment (with Houston Coalition Against Hate/OCA-Greater Houston).

  • Saturday, June 19, 2021. 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

Next up:

On Saturday, June 26th, we are hosting a virtual watch party of NYC Youth Pride festivities. We are proud partners of this year’s Youth Pride, and invite all LGBTQ+ youth, and LGBTQ+ parents to join us for fun activities and giveaways during the viewing. 

Please sign up at this link: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJ0tcuivqj0qG9MT43q8ASbpk3WVrqccdeRy

If you want to add another type of training session to your calendar, try our Bystander Training to Stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment: 

  • Monday, June 21st 2021. 7:00PM ET/ 6:00PM CT/ 5:00PM MT/ 4:00PM PT/ 1:00PM HST. Register Here.

Or invite someone to attend Stand Up Against Street Harassment Training. 

  • Monday, June 22nd 2021 at 7:00PM ET/ 6:00PM CT/ 5:00PM MT/ 4:00PM PT/ 1:00PM HST. Register Here.

Have you already taken all our bystander training sessions? We’ve got the perfect next step for you. Try our “Conflict De-escalation Training”:

  • Monday, June 28th 2021. 1:00PM ET/ 12:00PM CT/ 11:00AM MT/ 10:00AM PT/ 7:00AM HST. Register Here.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *