A Week In Our Shoes: Holla-ing For Solidarity

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

It brings us great joy that the Hollaback! Community has fostered valuable connections showing the world how change can happen. With this unity, we are all exemplifying what solidarity really means by highlighting the importance of working together to dismantle a system that normalizes injustices. 

Together with you all, we are changing the narrative and it shows in the numbers! There has been a great demand for Bystander Intervention training in the last few months…and we couldn’t have met this demand without your support! We are so proud to be in this movement to make the world a better place, alongside all the inspiring upstanders. We see you rising to the occasion to make a difference, and we will continue to do the same. We salute you.

Speaking of rising to the occasion…… We cannot turn a blind eye to people living in fear of police officers. Perhaps you’re wondering what steps you can take in the movement to end racial profiling and put a stop to police brutality? One way you can support this movement is by learning the bystander intervention techniques and know-your-rights information offered in our Bystander Training to Stop Police Sponsored Violence and Anti-Black Racist Harassment:

  • Monday, May 17th, 2021. 2:00PM ET/ 1:00PM CT/ 12:00PM MT/ 11:00AM PT/ 8:00AM HST. Register Here.

To continue your work supporting our fellow human beings in communities at high risk of harassment, also add to your calendar Bystander Training to Stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment:

  • Thursday, May 20th, 2021. 5:00PM ET/ 4:00PM CT/ 3:00PM MT/ 2:00PM PT/ 11:00AM HST. Register Here.

Looking for something if you are part of a community at higher risk of harassment? Try our How to Respond to Harassment for People Experiencing Anti-Asian/American Harassment Training Workshop:

  •  Friday, May 21st, 2021. 12:00PM ET/ 11:00AM CT/ 10:00PM MT/ 9:00PM PT/ 6:00AM HST. Register Here.

Around The World

Jakarta

Shout out to Hollaback!Jakarta for standing strong and championing the Women’s March on April 21-23, 2021. Thank you to all who participated for not only using their voices to raise awareness but “holla-ing” for justice and saying no to the inequalities society throws at us. 

Ottawa

Hey Hollaback!Ottawa, you’re invited to the Shout Out Party as well. Don’t think we forgot about you! In April, Hollaback!Ottawa partnered with “Pride, Not Prejudice” and hosted a free Bystander Intervention training session. Thank you to all who participated and are patiently waiting for the next session. 

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *