A Week In Our Shoes: The Work Continues

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

It’s been an emotional week, to say the least. Welcome to another edition of “A Week In Our Shoes” where we update you with the latest about all things Hollaback!. 

This week, the US and many all over the world watched as police officer Derek Chauvin was found guilty on three charges for the murder of George Floyd in May 2020. Many of us breathed a collective sigh of relief when the verdict was announced: it was a validation of what we had seen & knew to be true from the video evidence bravely documented by 17-year-old Darnella Frazier. 

At the same time, we are also painfully aware that holding accountable one individual officer in a foundationally anti-Black policing system isn’t justice. We are painfully aware that justice – a world with truly fair treatment of all – would mean that George Floyd was still alive today. Justice would mean that his daughter Gianna wouldn’t have lost her dad at the age of 6. Justice would mean that the many, many Black people who have been murdered by law enforcement officers would still be with us today – still coming home to their families from work or school, still sharing a meal with their cousins, still sharing a laugh with their friends. Finally, justice would mean that the systematic targeting, harassment, harm, assault, brutalization, and murder of Black people by law enforcement would not be happening. But this continues to happen even as we speak. At the very same time that the verdict of this week’s trial was announced, law enforcement stole the life of a young Black girl, Ma’Khia Bryant. Ma’Khia was 16, just a decade older than Gianna. 

We are resolved to do our part to contribute to a more just world, one where our Black siblings can live, work, walk, drive, function daily without the threat of murder by police. That will take a comprehensive restructuring of the law enforcement & carceral system in this country. It will take not only accountability for the culpable individuals, but policy change and culture change.

Our work is about culture change, and active bystanders are an important part of that. We cannot change our society for the better if we live in a culture where we turn away from the suffering of our neighbors. We have to foster a culture of care & support, one where if I see you in pain, I do what I can to help you, rather than keep my head down and ignore it. In this spirit, we are continuing to offer more Bystander Intervention Training to Stop Police Sponsored Violence & Anti-Black Racist Harassment. Please sign up at the links below: our trainings are 1 hour long, virtual, and completely free. 

  • Monday, May 17th 2021. 2:00PM ET/ 1:00PM CT/ 12:00PM MT/ 11:00AM PT/ 8:00AM HST. Register Here.
  • Monday, May 24th 2021. 6:00PM ET/ 5:00PM CT/ 4:00PM MT/ 3:00PM PT/ 12:00PM HST. Register Here.
  • Friday, June 11th 2021. 3:00PM ET/ 2:00PM CT/ 1:00PM MT/ 12:00PM PT/ 9:00AM HST. Register Here.

Black Lives Matter. Black Lives Matter. Black Lives Matter.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes

– Hollaback! Staff 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *