A Week In Our Shoes: Race To The Finish Line

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

FRI-NALLY!!! Weekends should definitely come with a pause button because this is where pure happiness comes from. In this week’s edition of “A Week In Our Shoes,” let us enjoy a virtual grand send off commemorating Women’s History Month through poetry. Remember this poem from the beginning of this month? Share your story with us on what Women’s Month means to you. Your story could be the passport to changing the way people speak on issues, for example, harassment. We’ve got your back. We believe you. To take action by sharing your story, click here.

A Short Letter to All Women

Dear Women,

You continue to carry an unbreakable shield

In a patriarchal field

Still, you continue to persevere and use your voice despite the odds

Thank you, for not allowing society to keep you on the ground floor

You continue to push pass the callous words and detrimental glass-ceilings which deserves a grand applause

Your tenacity, compassion, and innovative ideas roars

To all the amazing women, past, present, and future…….Thank You

Yours Truly,

A fellow pioneer

– Asha Nelson 

To each change-maker, pioneer, fighter: thank you for a motivating and inspiring Women’s History Month. We are looking forward to taking more action alongside you during International Anti-Street Harassment Week (April 11-17, 2021). Stay tuned for more details in our next newsletter. 

Speaking of taking action, we are continuing to schedule as many trainings as we can accommodate on Bystander Intervention to Stop anti-Asian/American & Xenophobic Harassment. Bystander intervention is needed now more than ever. 

Please see ihollaback.org/bystanderintervention to find a date that works for you. 

Don’t ever feel that you are powerless. You are not alone. Join us at our Bystander Intervention Training on “How to Respond to Anti-Asian/American Harassment when it Happens to You”

  • Friday, April 2nd, 2021. 5:00 PM ET/ 4:00 PM CT/ 3:00 PM MT/ 2:00 PM PT/ 12:00 PM HST. Register Here

More power to you. Learn what you can do to help “Stop Anti-Asian/American Harassment and Xenophobia” via our training sessions that are carefully designed to address this matter.

  •  Monday, April 5th, 2021. 1pm EST/ 12pm MT/ 11am PT/ 9am HST. Register Here
  • Tuesday, April 6th, 2021. 2pm ET/1pm CT/ 12pm MT/ 11am PT/ 9am HST. Register Here
  • Wednesday, April 7th, 2021. 3pm ET/ 2pm CT/ 1pm MT/ 12pm PT/ 10am HST. Register Here
  • Thursday, April 8th, 2021. 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HST. Register Here

A special thank you goes to Nasdaq for uplifting our anti-harassment work and welcoming us on March 31 to ring the opening bell! Check it out on Twitter, and you can catch the video on our IG!

Thank you for your support, Nasdaq! 

Around The World

Jakarta

Shout out to Hollaback! Jakarta!!! Join this awesome team at the “Sexual Harassment: Who is To Blame?” Virtual discussion. It is up to us to change the narrative and speak up on the reality of sexual abuse and other injustices many folks face in Indonesia. This discussion is absolutely FREE. Guess what? Every participant would receive an e-certificate of participation and much more. What are you waiting for? Let’s learn and help one another together, Saturday, April 17th, 2021 at 14:00 – check out the details on their IG.

.

 

.

Detroit

We can’t close Women’s History Month without speaking up about all of the injustices Black women have faced. Systemic racism, microaggression, macroaggression, stereotyping and the list goes on. We are sick and tired of these ongoing racial inequities. March 13, 2021 marked the anniversary since the murder of Breonna Taylor. Hollaback! Detroit attended a candlelight vigil in her honor hosted by BLMIAC, “Black Lives Matter in All Capacities.” 

Racism is the BIGGEST ongoing evil we face. When would it ever stop? Just look at the statutory responses to violence against Black women in the home and it’s clear. As Hollaback! Detroit puts it: “The way this country treats Black women is more than apparent in the way Breonna’s case has been handled and we should all feel angered by this. Breonna Taylor deserves much more than what she receives and we will not stand by as her life is disregarded.” 

We Must Do Better. Black Women are NOT a threat. Black People are NOT a threat. Why are we still dehumanizing people in 2021? #ProtectBlackWomen 

 

.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *