A Week In Our Shoes: Making Strides Together

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

Our hearts are filled with inspiration… Happy Women’s History Month! It is rewarding to announce our special theme #Hollaback!Edition: “All the amazing women who came before us made this future possible for us. So let’s take this month to imagine Women’s Futures! Let’s dream BIG!” To all the women both past, present and future who yearn for a significant change in society, BRAVO, you’ve made the most important step. 

By reminiscing on the past in comparison to this day, we can identify a common thread i.e. women being able to push past boundaries and evision a radically different future. We envision a world where women can continue to persevere and strategically shake up archaic policies. Where women of ALL races, ethnicities and cultural backgrounds can thrive. No matter who you are, we believe that you CAN make an impact, by standing in solidarity with each other and taking care of each other. 

Speaking of solidarity, in honor of International Women’s Day (March 8), we have launched #HollabackMeets on IG live, a series of short interviews with international change makers. Check them out! Our very own Ana Velasquez interviewed our partners from around the world in a Global Coalition Against Street Harassment. If you missed the interviews, don’t worry (no need to sweat, we got your back) – they are all posted to our IGTV! Head to @ihollagram on Instagram and check them out to hear all the amazing insight our interviewees shared.

Also, in commemoration of  Women’s History Month we are offering a free Stand Up Against Street Harassment Training every week! There’s no better time to join the movement! Right?

In honour of this historic month, let us join virtual hands in solidarity at our  “Stand Up Against Street Harassment” Bystander Training sessions.

  • Monday, March 8th, 2021. 3:00 pm ET/ 2:00 pm CT/ 1:00 pm MT/ 12:00 pm PT/ 10:00 am HST. Register Here
  • Wednesday, March 17th, 2021. 6:00 pm ET/ 5:00 pm CT/ 4:00pm MT/ 3:00 pm PT/ 1:00 am HST. Register Here

You can also join us at our public “Bystander Intervention Training to Stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment”:

  • Monday, March 15th, 2021. 6:00pm ET/5:00pm CT/ 4:00pm MT/ 3:00pm PT/1:00pm HST. Register Here

Have you already taken all our bystander trainings? We’ve got the perfect next step for you. Try our “Conflict De-escalation Training”:

  • Wednesday, March 17th, 2021. 2:00 PM ET/ 1:00pm CT/ 12:00pm MT/ 11:00 am PT/ 9:00 am HST. Register Here

Around The World

To all our Hollaback! Chapters, we at HQ like to wish each and every member of the Hollaback! Crew, a Happy International Women’s Day!

The Bahamas

Shout out to Hollaback! Bahamas for making waves this month! This year they will be hosting an International Women’s Day Virtual Expo. Their theme for International Women’s Day is pleasure. Oh yes!  We welcome you to Planet Pleasure—a place to revel in what we enjoy, explore new potential sources of pleasure, and share what we know and love. Check out the roster!

10am – Pleasure Poetics with Brendane Tynes

11am – Theater with Paula Hamilton-Smith

Noon – On the Mend with Hermie Escamilla

1pm – Gardening with Allicia Rolle / Art with Zearier Munroe

2pm – Contemporary Movement with Shauné Culmer

3pm – Yoga

This is not only for heart, mind, and body, but for our feminist politic. It is directly related to the conversation about marital rape (we talk about consent, but what about women’s right to sexual pleasure?). It is also critical to discuss women’s unpaid labor and the burden of care, which are barriers to leisure and pleasure. And all these topics are necessary components of our recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic. Pleasure cannot be separated from our lives and what we need to sustain ourselves.

We will lean on the wisdom of queer Black feminist women and challenge ourselves to not only demand pleasure, but to give ourselves permission to create and experience it for ourselves.

Our inspiration can best be summed up by Audre Lorde, “The sharing of joy, whether physical, emotional, psychic, or intellectual, forms a bridge between the sharers which can be the basis for understanding much of what is not shared between them, and lessens the threat of their difference.”

And by adrienne maree brown: “[…] begin to understand the liberation possible when we collectively orient around pleasure and longing.”

To register for this awesome event, which will be hosted Saturday, March 6, please visit https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEqcuurrT4oHdKun-yo2DjuY-0oJ_kh5NOD.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *