A Week In Our Shoes: Together We Climb

From Hollaback! HQ

Pleasant Good Afternoon Hollas,

Inaugural Poet Amanda Gorman has truly etched our hearts with a melody that we could all relate to. As millions gathered around their screens, that tune of TRUTH emanated warmth to each and every body. It reminded us of how as a people, not by occupation, but as human beings, together CHANGE is POSSIBLE. Repairing a system to care for ALL folks regardless of ethnicity, race or culture…Envisioning living in a country without fear…Standing up against the shackles of white supremacy and oppression in all its shapes, sizes and forms. A society we yearn for through an exchange of power that has given us hope. This auspicious moment marked the official day of real progress on the journey to equality. Amanda (a true personification of hope), we at Hollaback! climb with you. As her words echoed across the U.S., Gorman reminded us “to not turn a blind eye to the cracks that really need to be filled.” 

As we listened, we thought about our vision, “… a world where all people have the freedom to move through public space, participate in civic life and reach their full potential.” We shall continue to stand with you, helping to pave the way forward for all of us. 

In the spirit of unity and togetherness as posited by the incredible Amanda Gorman, we urge you to check out our “Resilience Training” guide. What is “Resilience?” What works in keeping yourself grounded and what doesn’t? How can we assess and quickly recover from a situation of stress or discomfort? Our goal is that you will be better prepared to author your own resilience. Check it out by clicking here.

 

Don’t miss our trainings next week: 

BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP ANTI-ASIAN/AMERICAN HARASSMENT AND XENOPHOBIA WORKSHOP
TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • Monday, January 25th, 2021. 4:00pm ET/3:00pm CT/ 2:00pm MT/ 1:00pm PT/ 11:00am HST. Register Here 

 
HOW TO RESPOND TO ANTI-ASIAN/ AMERICAN HARASSMENT WHEN IT HAPPENS TO YOU
TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • Wednesday, January 27th, 2021. 7 pm ET/ 6 pm CT/ 5 pm MT / 4 pm PT / 2 pm HST. Register Here

 
CONFLICT DE-ESCALATION TRAINING
TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • Friday, January 29th, 2021. 3:00 PM ET/ 2:00pm CT/ 1:00pm MT/ 12:00pm PT/ 10:00am HST. Register Here

 

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *