A Week In Our Shoes: Staying Strong in the New Year

From Hollaback! HQ

Happy New Year Hollas!!! We are back and more motivated than ever to make the new year sparkle, together with you. Welcome, to the newest edition of “A Week In Our Shoes,” where we get to share with you what’s happening with us, as we strive to create safer spaces around the world.

But before we share our New Year updates, we want to acknowledge the events earlier this week at the US Capitol. This week, we saw our worst nightmares come true as white supremacists and Neo-Nazis staged a coup in the US Capitol building, a building meant to represent democracy. 

Though we may not yet be able to recognize and process the collective trauma of this event, or of the past year of loss, we must recognize none of this is normal. And we cannot pretend it is.

Know this: we stand in solidarity with everyone whose life was in danger in the US Capitol building on January 6th. We stand in solidarity with the current and past activists who’ve sounded the alarm on the growth of white supremacy in the US and other countries. And we stand in solidarity with everyone who has marched, protested, fought, and worked against structural racism in the last year, in the last decade, in all the years before – and in all the years to come.

Our expertise is training – and we want to use it to support you in this difficult moment. To that end, we’d like to invite you to our upcoming free, one-hour Resilience Training next week. Please join us if you can – this will be a guided, interactive space designed for us to “author our own resilience.”

Resilience Training 

TRAINING DATES AND TIMES

  • Thursday, January 14th, 2021. 5:00 PM ET/ 4:00pm CT/3:00pm MT/2:00pm PT/11:00am HST.  Register Here

We hope you’ll join us in either beginning or continuing your practice of resilience in this New Year!

_____

Since good news has been hard to come by these days, let us share some about Hollaback!. Thanks to all your incredible hard work last year, we at HQ were able to meet our fundraising goal. We’re doing more with your support. A heartfelt thank you to all for your generous donations. 

What’s more, it brings us great joy to share with you that we have elected new board members and a board chair-person. Stay tuned next week for the official announcement. 

Guess what!? You can still experience our extraordinary Bystander Intervention training sessions, just in case you missed any of them last year. You too can be part of the change.

Stand Up Against Street Harassment: How To Intervene And Respond To Gender-based Harassment

TRAINING DATES AND TIMES: 

  • Monday, January 11th, 2021. 5:00 pm ET/ 4:00 pm CT/ 3:00 pm MT/ 2:00 pm PT/ 12:00 pm HST. Register Here
  • Friday, January 22nd, 2021. 12:00 pm ET/ 11:00 am CT/ 10:00 am MT/ 09:00 am PT/ 07:00 am HST. Register Here

_____

Around The World

Atrévete, Bogotá

Shout out to Hollaback! Atrévete, Bogotá! Right now, this Hollaback! Charter needs your assistance. In efforts to combat street harassment, we need your support to vote for the “Chapinero Stops Street Harassment” proposal. If you live in Chapinero you can go to https://gobiernoabiertobogota.gov.co and vote for the proposal. Vote for the change.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *