A Week In Our Shoes: Breaking News

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas,

Roses are red,

Violets are blue, 

We’ve got 16 days of activism,

So do you,

Knowledge is power,

Let’s take down the patriarchal tower,

Together, we shall not cower.

Stay tuned for our upcoming updates on our plans for 16 Days of Activism. We at HQ are gearing up for our “Stand Up Against Street Harassment – 16 Days of Activism”, a 16 Day series specifically designed to share the tools of bystander intervention. This series will officially commence on November 25. We listened. We’re preparing. With your attendance, WE can make a difference. *SPOILER ALERT* Our series will include daily training sessions. 

… But wait…there’s more!

Upcoming training dates and times for next week:

BYSTANDER INTERVENTION TO STOP ANTI-ASIAN/AMERICAN HARASSMENT AND XENOPHOBIA WORKSHOP
TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 19TH 2020 AT 5:00PM ET/4:00PM CT/3:00PM MT/ 2:00PM PT/ 11:00AM HST. REGISTER HERE.
BYSTANDER INTERVENTION 2.0: CONFLICT DE-ESCALATION TRAINING WORKSHOP
TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 17TH, 2020 AT 6:00PM ET/5:00PM CT/ 4:00PM MT/ 3:00PM PT/12:00PM HST. REGISTER HERE.
STAND UP AGAINST STREET HARASSMENT: HOW TO INTERVENE AND RESPOND TO GENDER-BASED HARASSMENT
TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 18TH AT 4:00 PM ET/ 3:00PM CT/ 2:00PM MT/ 1:00PM PT/ 10:00AM HST. REGISTER HERE.
UNDOING IMPLICIT BIAS TRAINING
TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 20TH, 2020 AT 4:00PM ET/ 3:00PM CT/ 2:00PM MT/ 1:00PM PT/ 10:00AM HST. REGISTER HERE.

Around The World

The Bahamas

Let’s get together and revamp policy!!! Shout out to @HollabackBahamas and Equality Bahamas for putting together an awesome ground-breaking group. On November 4th, this group came together (virtually) to draft a set of policies to the government on how to address gender-based violence. Their focus was: How can we demand the government address the issue of domestic violence in The Bahamas? We are sure this effort will continue to break barriers in the Caribbean region.

Croatia

Shout out to @HollabackCroatia for hosting a #YouWillNeverWalkAlone campaign. This campaign was created to encourage and support Polish women by creating a virtual buzz/trend. Many of these women made a short video/ shared photos of encouraging words/symbol of encouragement as a means for all those  fighting today for fundamental human rights, for the right to legal abortion and against the dictatorship of PiS-Party. #ThatsWhatImTalkingAbout

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *