A Week In Our Shoes: Shine Bright like a Diamond!

From Hollaback! HQ

Hey Hollas!

We got the deets for you!

“Together we made it. We made it even though we had our backs up against the wall.”- Linkin Park & Busta Rhymes 

As we continue to work tirelessly, leaping every hurdle that comes our way, it brings us great joy to share with you that Hollaback!’s “Stand Up Against Street Harassment” campaign with L’oreal Paris and the NYC Commission On Gender Equity has been featured on the Times Square Billboards. This is truly a milestone for us, and being able to reach many folks out there is special. A “Momma, I made it.” moment. This couldn’t have been possible without your support.

Through this campaign, we offer FREE public training sessions specially created for YOU, so that you could learn how to respond when you witness or experience harassment. Together, by educating yourself about the matter, we would be able to decrease the statistics which show that “78% of women have experienced sexual harassment in public spaces”.

Sign up to attend a training: https://buff.ly/3kq4g9K

Sign up to host a training: https://buff.ly/3kmQX9Y

Here’s the scoop on more of the latest updates.

For those of you who may not know….

“The Survivors` Agenda initiative is about changing the conversation — especially for those most marginalized in the movement to end sexual violence. We as a united force are calling for a change in the rules. We are calling for the people in power — the officials we elect into office, and who purport to represent our interests — to be held accountable to the unique needs of those who have survived sexual and gender-based violence of any kind. In 2020, we are organizing that the policies and services we need to protect our rights to dignity, safety, and freedom are not only part of the national conversation, but fundamental to it.”

The Registration for the Survivors` Agenda virtual summit is now live! Join us September 24-26 for the virtual Survivors` Summit, a three-day virtual convening of survivors , movement-makers, healers, and activists where we will imagine what a world free of violence looks like and how we want to use our collective voices, strength, and power to make it possible.

Register for the virtual summit TODAY: https://buff.ly/2XEi6LJ

Take note of our upcoming Public Trainings …

How To Respond To Harassment For People Experiencing  Anti-Asian/American Harassment Training Workshop

Training date and times:
  • Wednesday, September 30th, 2020 at 4pm ET/ 3pm CT/ 2pm MT / 1pm PT / 10am HST. Register Here.
  • Wednesday, October 14th, 2020 at 4pm ET/ 3pm CT/ 2pm MT / 1pm PT / 10am HST. Register Here.
  • Wednesday, November 4th, 2020 at 4pm ET/ 3pm CT/ 2pm MT / 1pm PT / 10am HST. Register Here.

Bystander Intervention: How To Be An Ally When You Witness Online Abuse

  • Tuesday, September 29th, 2020 at 2:00pm ET/ 1:00pm CT/ 12:00pm MT/ 11:00am PT/ 8:00am HST. Register Here.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *