A Week In Our Shoes: Building A Safer Culture

From Hollaback! HQ

Hi Hollas! NEWS ALERT!!! – You are not alone. Hollaback! has created safer spaces to support you by welcoming you with open arms to our virtual resilient community where we can all support each other. Harassment is NEVER okay. It is not okay for our stories to not be taken seriously. Too many times we’ve been asked, “Did you provoke him?”, “Was it really that serious?”, “Why are you stirring up things?”, “If you don’t keep quiet, do you realize that your reputation will be affected?”

*rolls eyes*……..let us take a DEEPPPPP breath together.

Together, let us regain our control by first grabbing the horns of the narrative. By sharing your experiences, millions of folks across the globe are empowered to end the “silence policy”. We cannot continue to caste a blind eye…..sweeping harassment aside. It is time to take action. Join the community of folks sharing their story, to end harassment. Click here to share your story with our community. 

Oh wait! There’s more. Grab your virtual backpack because you are in for the trip of your life. Join us at our upcoming free training session Stand Up Against Street Harassment to be privy to world-class solutions on how to intervene in and respond to gender-based harassment. This training session is a partnership with L’Oreal Paris, an initiative to train over 1 million people globally in bystander intervention so they can safely intervene when witnessing or responding to harassment. Help us achieve our goal to train 20,000 people by December 2020 by standing up for what is right. You have the right to be safe, ANYWHERE. You don’t have to put up with any inappropriate comments, gestures or ACTIONS. Together, we say NO to harassment.

STAND UP AGAINST STREET HARASSMENT: HOW TO INTERVENE IN AND RESPOND TO GENDER-BASED HARASSMENT

TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • Wednesday, September 9th at 7:00 PM ET/ 6:00 PM CT/ 5:00 PM MT/ 4:00 PM PT/ 1:00 PM HST. Register Here.

Keep on the look-out for more types of harassment training……

……Speaking of types of training sessions….we`ve got something new for you.

Hollaback! has recently launched an “ Undoing Implicit Bias” training session. What’s this about you may ask. Well … “Everyone holds implicit biases. That doesn’t make us “bad people,” it just means that we have work to do. This one-hour, interactive training will teach you how to understand and begin to undo your own implicit biases. We’ll start by learning the brain science behind implicit bias, and how the part of the brain that used to protect us now holds us back. Through polls, brief thought experiments, and journaling, we’ll reflect on how implicit bias can show up in our actions and the impacts those biases can have on ourselves and our teams. Then we’ll roll our sleeves up and get to work, practicing three concrete ways that you can begin to undo bias in your own life. You’ll leave more confident in your ability to see and undo bias.” 

Feel free to sign up for the training session, Tuesday, September 15th, 2020 at 12:00 PM ET / 11:00am CT/ 10:00am MT/ 9:00am PT/ 6:00am HST. Register Here.

See you soon!

P.S. don’t be tardy for the party as Hollaback!`s birthday is coming up. Stay tuned for upcoming highlights for our 15th anniversary. It warms our hearts to witness how our community has grown throughout the years. This wouldn’t have been possible without the power of the people. 

Around The World

The Bahamas

Shout out to Hollaback! Bahamas and Equality Bahamas for hosting a LGBTQ+ Film Weekend. Thank you for cultivating such a safer space, for each and every individual. Let us continue building this type of culture.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *