A Week In Our Shoes: Calling For Alternatives!

From Hollaback! HQ

*toot toot* Special delivery for Hollas! In this deluxe package, is Hollaback!’s newest edition of “A Week In Our Shoes”. Get that sharpie marker and highlight some important dates on our trainings: Stand Up Against Street Harassment training, along with the best way to intervene and de-escalate conflict through our Bystander Intervention 2.0: Conflict De-Escalation Training Workshop and our Stand Up Against Street Harassment Training. To attend those trainings please review the dates below and register. Take the right action by joining us. Knowledge is power!

STAND UP AGAINST STREET HARASSMENT: HOW TO INTERVENE IN AND RESPOND TO GENDER-BASED  HARASSMENT TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • Tuesday, July 7th, 2020 at 3:00pm ET/ 2:00pm CT/ 1:00pm MT/ 12:00pm PT/ 9:00am HST. Register Here. 
  • Thursday, July 9th, 2020 at 6:00pm ET/ 5:00pm CT/ 4:00pm MT/ 3:00pm PT/ 12:00pm HST. Register Here. 
BYSTANDER INTERVENTION 2.0: CONFLICT DE ESCALATION TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • July 13th, 2020 at 2:00pm ET/ 1:00pm CT/ 12:00pm MT/ 11:00am PT/ 8:00am HST. Register Here. 
  • July 29th, 2020 at 6:00pm ET/ 5:00pm CT/ 4:00pm MT/ 3:00pm PT/12:00pm HST. Register Here. 

Around The World

Detroit.           

Shout out to @Hollaback!Detroit for committing to justice and EQUITY. Here is a word from this awesome team. “We at Hollaback Detroit have been researching the way that policing and the police force is funded and deployed. We see a frightening trend in police being used primarily to protect and serve the interests of corporate and governmental heads instead of the lives of our loved ones.  We have been made to pay for a force that only sometimes pretends to work for us.  We are calling for the police to be defunded and for funds to be diverted back into the community. …….Using war tactics that are excessive in so-called community policing. We believe our communities do not need to be militarized, and there is no place for this. We see police brutality as the ultimate form of Street harassment.” In order to make change, we must first evaluate the racialized/racist/racial social systems which preserve these heinous social-ills. Again, shout out to Hollaback! Detroit for a solution-based mission and also, shout out to ALL our teams for continuously,  GENUINELY creating safer spaces for folks across the globe, especially in this time of trauma. May Hollaback!’s mission permeates through the United States and across borders. 

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *