A Week In Our Shoes: Taking Action

From Hollaback! HQ

Today, Friday June 5th 2020 should be Breonna Taylor’s 27th birthday. In honor of Breonna Taylor’s birthday today, follow the link below to find some concrete actions you can do to commemorate her life and fight to get her justice. Complete as many items on the list as you can and share the link to this campaign so that other people can complete it too. Use the hashtags #SayHerName and #BirthdayForBreonna to get the word out. Here is the link to actions: bit.ly/BirthdayForBreonna 

As protests across the country continue, we want to acknowledge that every person has a role in the work of anti-racism. We’ve chosen to uplight organizations like Black Lives Matter, Black Visions Collective, and the Movement for Black Lives, and encourage you to sign their petitions and donate to their work. Also, as we continue to demand justice, we want to remind you all what author and social activist Grace Lee Boggs said best, “You cannot change any society unless you take responsibility for it; unless you see yourself as belonging to it & responsible for changing it.” 

Trainings

Mark your calendars for our upcoming Bystander Trainings to stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment. 

  • Wednesday, June 10th at 4:00pm ET / 3:00pm CT / 2:00pm MT / 1:00pm PT / 10:00am HST. Register Here.

Also check out our Bystander 2.0 training: Conflict De-Escalation Training:

  • Thursday, June 11th at 7:00pm ET / 6:00pm CT / 5:00pm MT / 4:00pm PT / 1:00pm HST Register Here.

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Gabriela, WIOS Guest Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *