A Week In Our Shoes: Build Resilience 

From Hollaback! HQ

Hello, and welcome to this new edition of “A Week In Our Shoes”. This week has hit hard for many of us in the United States, because on top of COVID-19’s impact on our communities, the death of George Floyd has left us shaken and outraged. We at Hollaback! are committed to stand up for what’s right, and do what we can to teach bystanders how much identity matters and how to safely intervene as bystanders. We believe that channeling that outrage into action is necessary to bring about change, and we stand in solidarity with the Floyd family and the protestors. Donate to the George Floyd Memorial Fundraiser here

#BlackLivesMatter #JusticeforGeorgeFloyd #JusticeforBreonnaTaylor #JusticeforAhmaudArbery

Trainings

Mark your calendars for our upcoming Bystander Trainings to stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment

  • Saturday, May 30th at 2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST. Register Here.      *An ASL interpreter will be present this date.                                     
  • Wednesday, June 3rd at 2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST. Register Here

Another upcoming training is our Resilience Training:

  • Tuesday, June 2nd at 2:00pm ET/ 1:00pm CT/ 12:00pm MT/ 11:00am PT/ 8:00am HST. Register Here

Also check out our Bystander 2.0 training: Conflict De-Escalation Training:

  • Thursday, June 4th at 2:00pm ET/ 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST Register Here.

Around The World

Cuenca

Hollaback! Cuenca has created a guide for Bystander Intervention Against Episodes of Gender Violence during confinement, in spanish. Check it out here in their social media pages. Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, and be sure to share these resources. Excelente trabajo HBCuenca! 

Jakarta

On May 21, Hollaback Jakarta’s Co-director Anindya Restuviani participated in a Virtual Discussion where the discourse centered around the following questions: Is gender inequality at the root of the rampant sexual violence in the college environment? Or is it due to the lack of an adequate legal umbrella to process the perpetrators of violence? Anindya also hosted an Instagram Live discussion on May 20th discussing what we can do to be in solidarity with vulnerable groups of women during this pandemic. And alongside UNALA, Anindya joined another Instagram live discussion, this time discussing body autonomy “My body is my right, not yours”. To stay up to date Jakarta’s events make sure to follow their instagram!

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Gabriela, WIOS Guest Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *