A Week In Our Shoes: Sprinkling Positivity

From Hollaback! HQ

“Hey Friday, we’ve been looking for you since Monday….anywho…Hollas, let’s make today so awesome, yesterday gets jealous.” How do we do this? By reading the latest edition of “Weekly In Our Shoes”, of course. On this month’s agenda we got some updates for you. Currently, we have FREE online Bystander Intervention to Stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment Trainings. Our next sessions are:

  • Thursday, May 21st at 7:00pm ET / 6:00pm CT / 5:00pm MT / 4:00pm PT / 1:00pm HST. Register here.
  • Saturday, May 30th at 2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST. Register here.

For this month`s training sessions, we CHALLENGE you to bring at least one (1) friend along with you. We yearn to have folks equipped with the sufficient knowledge and skills to help curb the many issues of harassment. See you all there! [Gaby will add training image on website]

But wait….there’s more!!!

On May 18th, we are joining Act To Change, a nonprofit against bullying- including AAPI, Sikh, Muslim, LGBTQI+ and immigrant youth, in marking the second annual AAPI #DayAgainstBullying+Hate

Everyday #AAPI kids are bullied online and in schools across the country, and irrational fears of #COVID19 virus has now exacerbated the issue. We’re excited to hear from Jose Antonio Vargas, Helen Zia, Tan France, Lisa Ling, John Cho, Padma Lakshmi, Kal Penn and many other #AAPI figures during the virtual event. #UnitedWeStand.

RSVP here: https://buff.ly/3dCkr0d  #ActToChange #APAHM

Around The World

Jakarta

 For teens who are bored out of their minds, Hollaback! Jakarta has the solution. Join them, tomorrow, Saturday, 16th May from 19:45- 21:30 WIB on Zoom. This event will have moderators and other officials to ensure that everyone has a chance to safely meet and converse with others virtually on many interesting popular youth topics. Check out this link for more information: bit.ly/SurveypersepsiremajatentangHKSR

Site Leader Spotlight

Site leader spotlight is a new section to show thanks to all the site leaders doing great work around the world! 

Meet Maksida Kravic from Hollaback Bosnia

We asked: Do you ever have a hard time reading or hearing stories of harassment? If so, how do you take care of yourself?

“Yes, considering that I am a survivor of a horrible crime, I often experience triggers. Plenty of times I wanted to quit on the whole project..I was thinking it is harmful for me but also Hollaback was my only space and connection with women like myself after this crime so I stick to it. With every bit of knowledge I picked up I become stronger and I wanted to share that with other women so they will have chance to defense and prevention as I did not have when it was happening to me. I had my ups and downs. Downs were awful.  Today I am thinking downs were actually resting. I would advise other women – survivors to give yourself a time to rest. To think , to organize, but stay active and watch what is happening in women’s world and then return, stronger and ready to change the world! There are not much resources for survivors of work gender based violence in Bosnia, no understanding or compassion because we had war and war crimes are priority.”

Thank you for your work and your response Maksida. The work we do is very personal, and now more than ever we must take care of ourselves.  

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *