A Week In Our Shoes: You Count!

From Hollaback! HQ

Happy Friday Hollas! Welcome to the latest edition of “A Week In Our Shoes” ! Let’s get to it shall we? We at HQ want to know what was YOUR experience with Bystander Intervention Training. That’s why Selina, the Research Fellow here at Hollaback! is conducting some research. We want to measure the impact and effectiveness of the Bystander Intervention Training in our communities. The results of the research will be used to make improvements to the training and also help us understand how we can make the training accessible to everyone

A big part of this research is about your experience with the training. Do you remember when you first were trained in Bystander Intervention? Are you training other folks? We want to hear from you! We’ve created this survey which should take no more than 15 minutes of your time to fill in.

If you are interested in participating in a short phone interview please email Selina directly at [email protected] All of the information gathered from this survey will be used only to assess the impact and effectiveness of the trainings and participation is completely anonymous. Thank you for your time!

We’re also delivering another round of Bystander trainings to stop Anti-Asian/American and xenophobic harassment! This training is online and is FREE for anyone to attend, our next sessions are: 

Wednesday, May 13th at 2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST. Register here. 

Thursday, May 21st at 7:00pm ET / 6:00pm CT / 5:00pm MT / 4:00pm PT / 1:00pm HST. Register here.

Saturday, May 30th at 2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST. Register here.

We hope you join us at one of these training sessions! 

Site Leader Spotlight

Site leader spotlight is a new section to show thanks to all the site leaders doing great work around the world! 

Meet Ivana Šalinović from Hollaback Croatia! 

We asked: What is harassment like in your location? Do people realize that it’s a problem? And What is the most important thing you’ve learned through the process of running your Hollaback! site? 

“Harassment in Croatia is still not recognized as a problem. It is considered as something that is funny, that people should like it, be flattered.” “The most important thing that I have personally learned is that you if you changed a mindset of one person, it should be considered as a huge accomplishment.”

Thank you for your work and for your response Ivana. It’s important to recognize the impact our work has in our communities, because changing a culture is a gradual process. 

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Gabriela, WIOS Guest Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *