A Week In Our Shoes: Stacking Strength

From Hollaback! HQ

Phew…Friday is FINALLY here. The golden child of the weekdays, superhero of the workweek and the “welcome” train to the weekend. What’s the most exciting thing this Friday? ONE….that you are here…and TWOlatest updates of this week’s edition of a “Weekly In Our Shoes”. Here at HQ, we are truly grateful for so much, especially for you folks in these unprecedented times. With that being said, as we continue to be the beacon of hope by creating these safer spaces (virtual and non-virtual) and training sessions, it brings us great joy to know that our efforts have truly made a difference. 

As promised, our next scheduled  “Bystander Intervention to Stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment Training sessions” is this Saturday, May 2nd at (2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST). Next Tuesday, May 5th at (3:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 1:00pm MT / 12:00pm PT / 9:00am HST) and next week Thursday, May 7th at (7PM ET/ 6PM CT/ 5PM MT/ 4PM PT/ 1PM HST). To register for these free training sessions, click HERE. #bystanderintervention #harassment #xenophobia

Around The World 

Jakarta

Today, Jakarta Feminist will be hosting an Instagram Live discussion with Pipiet, from Green Jacket Community at 4PM Jakarta time. Come join and listen to the experiences of workers and how they deal with the plethora of issues during their experience with the COVID-19 outbreak. See you there on that “Road To MayDay” trip. Take our word for it when we say, “ It’s worthwhile!” 

Detroit

For those of you, who missed Hollaback!Detroit’s Instagram Live Trivia, we have an infographic to soothe those sorrows. We are bringing the activity to you. Take a look at the infographic and share your thoughts with @hollabackdetroit on Instagram. Let’s continue this conversation because change begins with meaningful dialogue, knowledge and good practices. #endstreetharassment

#NetflixPartyyyyy…….Netflix & Chill with Hollaback! Detroit during quarantine was totally awesome! Shout out to the Detroit team for an amazing job! The online social interaction was much NEEDED

Catch you in our next issue of A Week In Our Shoes!

Asha, WIOS Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *